University of South Carolina

New Carolina Distinguished Professors named

By Jeff Stensland,, 803-777-3686

The University of South Carolina welcomed six new faculty members to its roster of Carolina Distinguished Professors, one of the highest honors USC bestows to faculty members who are among the best in the field.

Carolina Distinguished Professors are selected by their dean and approved by the provost, the University Committee on Named and Distinguished Professorships and the president.  The criteria include a reputation as a distinguished teacher, combining excellence in scholarship with a commitment to students, mentoring of junior colleagues, and service to the university and  the profession. Recipients are typically tenured full professors or eligible for tenure.

The six recently selected include:

Ronald Benner, department of biological sciences, College of Arts and Sciences;

Roger Dougal, department of electrical engineering, College of Engineering and Computing;

Robyn Hunt, department of theatre and dance, College of Arts and Sciences;

Mitzi Nagarkatti, department of pathology, microbiology and immunology, School of Medicine Columbia;

James A. Ritter, department of chemical engineering, College of Engineering and Computing;

Qian Wang, department of chemistry and biochemistry, College of Arts and Sciences.

Each distinguished professor holds the designation for five years, with the possibility of renewal. There are now 30 Carolina Distinguished Professors. To see a complete list visit

News and Internal Communications

Posted: 03/25/13 @ 5:00 PM | Updated: 03/25/13 @ 5:15 PM | Permalink



Media Relations

USC Times