University of South Carolina

USC new HQ for national student-affairs honor society

The University of South Carolina College of Education has been designated the national headquarters for Chi Sigma Alpha Student Affairs Honor Society International, effective May 1, 2011.

“This move is, no doubt, one of the most exciting things that has happened to the chapter since the first class was initiated,” said Dr. Renee Connolly, interim dean for assessment in the USC College of Education and faculty adviser for the Delta chapter of Chi Sigma Alpha, based at USC. “It has come due to careful and dedicated work from the higher education and student-affairs master’s students who make up the majority of the membership. I’m sure the national headquarters will grow and prosper under the guidance and organization of our successful Delta chapter.”

Executive officers of the Delta chapter are all graduate students in USC’s Higher Education and Student Affairs Program: Anna Todara, president; Lindsey Hammond, vice president; and Ashley Ellis, treasurer. They will serve as interim executive officers for the national headquarters.

Membership to the honor society is open to students, faculty and staff and is based on excellence in academics, research and service to the profession of student affairs. Student members must have completed at least one full semester of study in student affairs and, during membership, must maintain an overall scholastic grade point average of 3.7 or better. Faculty and staff members may be inducted when nominated by a current member.

The chapter conducts monthly meetings with additional brown bag sessions that are open to anyone. Topics have included choice of graduate programs, tips on getting published, study abroad and civility in higher education. The chapter also gives out the Pillars Award to an individual who displays excellence in academics, research and service in work and/or study.

Active chapters with whom USC will work are based at Clemson University, the University of Alabama, South Dakota State University, Shepard University, the University of West Florida, Bucknell University and The Citadel.

More information on the society is available online at

By Office of Media Relations

Posted: 04/25/11 @ 2:20 PM | Updated: 04/25/11 @ 2:24 PM | Permalink