University of South Carolina

Warr, von Lehe tapped for leadership of USC Board of Trustees

Contact Wes Hickman,, 803-777-3478

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees elected new leadership Friday (Aug. 3).  Lamar attorney Eugene P. Warr will serve as chairman, and Charleston attorney John C. von Lehe, Jr. will serve as vice chairman. 

Warr—a board member since 2003—graduated magna cum laude with honors from USC in 1981 with a degree in accounting.  Four years later, he received a law degree from USC and is now a partner at Warr and White in Florence.  Warr previously served as the board’s vice chairman.

von Lehe is a partner at Nelson, Mullins, Riley and Scarborough in Charleston.  He received his bachelor’s degree in psychology in 1965 and law degree in 1968, both from USC.  He has served on the board since 1998.

Warr and von Lehe will serve two-year terms.

The board also elected its executive committee and members were appointed to standing committees.

Executive Committee

Eugene P. Warr, chairman, John C. von Lehe, Jr., vice chairman, Miles Loadholt, chairman emeritus, C. Edward Floyd, William C. Hubbard and Toney J. Lister

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

Thad Westbrook, chairman, Robert E. Brown, Mark W. Buyck, Jr., Thomas C. Cofield, A.C. Fennell, III, William W. Jones, Jr. and Hubert F. Mobley

Audit and Compliance Committee

J. Egerton Burroughs, chairman, Chuck Allen, Robert E. Brown, Hubert F. Mobley, C. Dorn Smith, Thad Westbrook, Mack I. Whittle, Jr. and Charles H. Williams

Building and Grounds Committee

William W. Jones, Jr., chairman, Mark W. Buyck, Jr., Thomas C. Cofield, William C. Hubbard, Toney J. Lister, Miles Loadholt, Leah B. Moody and Charles H. Williams

Health Affairs Committee

C. Dorn Smith, chairman, J. Egerton Burroughs, A.C. Fennell, III, C. Edward Floyd, Miles Loadholt, Hubert F. Mobley, Mack I. Whittle, Jr. and Charles H. Williams

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee

Mark W. Buyck, Jr., chairman, Chuck Allen, C. Edward Floyd, William C. Hubbard, William W. Jones, Jr., Toney J. Lister, Leah B. Moody, Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Student-Trustee Liaison Committee

Leah B. Moody, chairwoman, Chuck Allen, Robert E. Brown, J. Egerton Burroughs, Thomas C. Cofield, A.C. Fennell, III, C. Dorn Smith and Thad Westbrook


News and Internal Communications

Posted: 08/03/12 @ 6:00 PM | Updated: 08/06/12 @ 6:08 PM | Permalink