University of South Carolina

USC senior named Marshall Scholar finalist

By Jennifer Bess, Fellowships and Scholar Programs

University of South Carolina senior Rahoul Ahuja of Columbia has been named a Marshall Scholar finalist. Ahuja will interview for the prestigious national scholarship Nov. 6 in Atlanta.

Ahuja is a Baccalaureus Artium et Scientiae major, offered by the South Carolina Honors College, focusing on pre-medicine, health economics and international health policy. A member of Phi Beta Kappa, Ahuja is the recipient of the valedictorian scholarship. He participated in Dr. Susan Lessner’s lab at the USC School of Medicine, and has significant internship experiences with the WHO in Geneva, Switzerland, and the Centers for Disease Control in Atlanta, working on issues surrounding tobacco use and smoking cessation.

Rahoul Ahuja Ahuja plans to complete the Master of Science in Public Health in Developing Countries at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, as well as the MSc in International Health Policy at the London School of Economics.

He is the son of Anita Khetpal and Vijay Ahuja, and is a graduate of Cardinal Newman High School in Columbia.

"I am honored to be selected for a Marshall interview and the opportunity to represent the university. I would especially like to extend my deepest gratitude to everyone who has guided me and helped me get to this stage, including the USC Marshall Committee and Fellowships Office. I hope to be able to use this opportunity in the UK to address pressing health needs worldwide and improve access to healthcare in resource-limited environments."

Up to 40 new Marshall Scholarships are awarded each year. The awards finance young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom in any discipline. In 1953, an Act of Parliament established the Marshall Scholarship program. Named in honor of US Secretary of State George C. Marshall, the scholarships are an expression of Britain’s gratitude for economic assistance received through the Marshall Plan after World War II. The University of South Carolina has had two Marshall Scholars: Elizabeth Nyikos in 2009 and Nicholas Miller in 2001.

The Office of Fellowships and Scholar Programs assists USC students competing for national fellowships and scholarships such as the Marshall. For more information, visit

The University Marshall Scholarship Committee is chaired by John Nelson (biological sciences). Committee members include Kin Blackburn (economics), Tom Brown (history) and Jill Frank (political science).

News and Internal Communications

Posted: 10/29/12 @ 12:00 AM | Updated: 10/29/12 @ 3:30 PM | Permalink