Skip to Content

Office of the Faculty Senate

Faculty Senators

The Faculty Senate consists of 10 percent of the voting members of the faculty, elected by each college, school, or regional campus, except that the clinical, teaching faculty from each School of Medicine will be represented by three faculty.

Each spring semester, the Faculty Senate office calculates the appropriate senate representation for each college and school. Senators are elected for a three-year term in the spring, with the term beginning with the fall semester.  Every faculty member has the right to attend and address the senate, but only senators may vote.

New senators should review New Senator Training [pdf], Information for Senators [pdf] and the Quick Guide to Parliamentary Procedure [pdf].


2019-2020 Senators

Current faculty senators are listed by college and department below. To find the contact information for a specific person, search by keyword. 2019 - 2020 Faculty Senators [pdf]

Department Name Year Email Keywords(hidden column)
College of Arts & Sciences
Aerospace Studies
Vacant 2022 (See Naval Science)  
College of Arts & Sciences
Anthropology
Sherina Feliciano-Santos 2021 felicias@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Robert Friedman 2020 bobf@biol.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Deanna Smith 2020 deannasm@biol.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Joshua Stone 2020 stone@sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Sofia Lizarraga
2021 lizarras@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Trey Franklin 2022 frankliw@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
John Lavigne 2020 lavignjj@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
F. Wayne Outten 2020 wayne.outten@mail.chem.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Hui Wang
 
2020  
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Natalia Shustova 2022 shustova@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Hayden Smith 2021 smithhp@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Robert Kaminski 2022 kaminskb@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Elaine Chun 2020 chune@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Jonathan Edwards 2020 edwardjj@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Michael Gavin 2020 mgavin@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Anthony Jarrells 2020 jarrells@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Rebecca Stern 2020 stern2@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Mark Minett
 
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Erik Doxtader 2022 erik.doxtader@gmail.com  
College of Arts & Sciences
Geography
Meredith DeBoom
 
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
Geography
Jean Ellis Tedesco 2022 jtellis@sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Carol Harrison 2020 ceharris@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Andrew Berns 2021 aberns@malbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Paul MacKenzie 2022 mackensp@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Alanna Breen 2020 breenam@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences 
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Ellen Brightwell 2020 brightek@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Aria Dal Molin 2020 dalmolin@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Rebecca Janzen 2021 janzenr@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Greg Patterson 2021 gpatters@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Andrew Rajca 2022 rajca@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Alex Duncan 2020 duncan32@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Eva Czabarka
 
2021
 
 
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Paula Vasquez
 
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
George McNulty 2022 mcnulty@math.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Military Science (Army)
Vacant 2022 (See Naval Science)  
College of Arts & Sciences
Naval Science
Robert Osterhoudt
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
Philosophy
Anne Bezuidenhout 2020 annebez@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Philosophy
Heike Sefrin-Weis 2020 sefrinwe@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Steve Rodney 2020 rodneysa@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Matthias Schindler 2020 mschindl@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Yuriy Pershin 2020 pershin@physics.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Political Science
John Hsieh 2020 jfhsieh0@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Political Science
Robert Oldendick
 
2021
 
 
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Jennifer Vendemia
2020  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Douglas Wedell
2020  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Rutvik Desai 2022 desairh@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Scott Huebner 2022 huebner@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Religious Studies
Noah Gardiner 2020 gardinen@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Sociology
Mathieu Deflem 2021 deflem@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Statistics
David Hitchcock 2020 hitchcock@stat.sc.edu    
College of Arts & Sciences
Statistics
Lianming Wang 2020 wang99@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Theatre & Dance
David Britt 
2021 brittdg@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Theatre & Dance
André Megerdichian 2022 megerdia@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
Gwen Geidel 2020 geidel@environ.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
Susan Lang 2020 langsq@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
David Fuente 2021 fuente@seoe.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Hyunji Kwon 2021 kwon7@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Peter Chametzky 2021 chametzk@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Marius Valdes 2022 valdesm@mailbox.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Nichelle Carpenter 2020 nichelle.carpenter@moore.sc.edu   
Moore School of Business Dongmei Li 2020 li378@mailbox.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Chun-Hui Miao 2020 miao@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Christopher Yenkey 2020 cyenkey@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business
Elizabeth Ravlin
2021  
Moore School of Business Luv Sharma 2021
 
 
Moore School of Business Justin Byars 2022 Justin.byars@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Maureen Petkewich 2022 Maureen.petkewich@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business
Courtney Worsham
2022  
College of Education Melissa Baker 2020 mbaker@sc.edu  
College of Education Susan Bon 2020 bons@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Daniella Cook 2020 cookda2@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Bridget Miller 2020 btmiller@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Katie Wolfe 2020 kmwolfe@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Education  Ryan Carlson 2021 carlsorg@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education  Panayiotis Doutis 2021  doutisp@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education  Spencer Platt 2021  splatt@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Jon Hale 2022 jnhale@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education William Morris 2022 morrisws@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education George Roy 2022 roygj@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Mary Styslinger 2022 mstyslin@mailboc.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Joseph Flora 2020 flora@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Ramy Harik 2020 harik@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Yinchao Chen 2021 chenyin@engr.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Neset Hikmet 2021 nhikmet@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Jianjun Hu 2021 jianjunh@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Nathan Huynh 2021 huynhn@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Erdem Sasmaz 2021 sasmaz@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing
Marco Valtorta
2021 mgv@cse.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Dongkyu Lee 2022 dongkyu@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Nader Qazvini 2022 ntaheri@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing
Bin Zhang
2022  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management Sang-Eun Byun 2020 sbyun@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
John Grady
2020  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
Karen Edwards
2021  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
Kevin So
2022  
Law School Jesse Cross 2020 jmcross@law.sc.edu  
Law School Shelley Welton 2020 swelton@law.sc.edu  
Law School Andy Kretschmar 2021 kretschm@law.sc.edu  
Law School Eve Ross 2021 rossea@law.sc.edu  
Law School Jan Baker 2022 bakerjm3@law.sc.edu  
Law School Dan Brackmann 2022 brackmad@law.sc.edu  
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Carmen Maye 2020 maye@mailbox.sc.edu       
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Lisa Sisk 2020 siskl@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Van Kornegay 2022 kornegay@email.sc.edu  
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Robert McKeever 2022 rmckeeve@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Ernie Wiggins 2022 wigginel@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Library and Information Science Elise Lewis 2020 elewis@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Taixing Cui 2020 taixing.cui@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Carole Oskeritzian 2020 carole.oskeritzian@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Jay Potts 2020 jay.potts@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Traci Testerman 2020  
School of Medicine Robert Dawson 2021 robert.dawson@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Alexa Gandy 2021 alexa.gandy@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Ali Rizvi 2021 ali.rizvi@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Ana Pocivavsek 2022 ana.pocivavsek@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Music Ari Streisfeld 2020 astreisfeld@mozart.sc.edu  
School of Music
Jeffrey Shaw
2021  
School of Music
Tonya Mitchell
2022  
School of Music Amanda Schlegel 2022 aschlegel@mozart.sc.edu  
School of Music Daniel Sweaney 2022 dsweaney@mozart.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Demetrius Abshire 2020 abshired@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Abbas Tavakoli 2020 atavakol@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Karen Worthy 2020 kworthy0@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Sara Donevant 2022 donevant@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Eboni Harris 2021 herberte@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Caitlin Mardis 2021 musgravc@cop.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Jing Fang 2021 fang8@cop.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Bryan Love 2022 loveb@cop.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Betsy Blake 2022 blake@cop.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Communication Sciences & Disorders
Charley Adams 2020 charley@sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Communication Sciences & Disorders
William Matchin
2021  
School of Public Health
Environmental Health Sciences
Mohammed Baalousha 2020 mbaalous@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Environmental Health Sciences
W. Joe Jones 2020 jones7@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Monique Brown 2022 brownm68@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Feifei Xiao 2022 xiaof@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Exercise Science
Terry Moore 2020 tmoore@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Exercise Science
Glenn Weaver 2020 weaverrg@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Health Promotion, Education and Behavior
Heather Brandt 2020  
School of Public Health
Health Promotion, Education and Behavior
Mark Macauda 2022 macauda@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Health Services Policy & Management
Peiyin Hung 2020  
School of Public Health
Health Services Policy & Management
Kelli Kenison 2022 kenison@mailbox.sc.edu  
Undergraduate Affairs
School of Public Health
Sara Corwin 2020 corwins@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Social Work Bethany Bell 2020 bellb@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Social Work
Dana DeHart
2020  
College of Social Work Michael Ottone 2020 ottone@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Social Work Bongki Woo 2022 woob@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries Stacy Winchester 2020 winches2@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries
Li Ma
2021  
University Libraries 
Megan Oliver
2021 moliver2@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries
Megan Palmer
2022 palmerm3@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries Kristina Schwoebel 2022 schwoebe@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Columbia
Mary Hjelm
 
2021   
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Steven Campbell
2021
 
 
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Stephen Criswell
2021 criswese@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Shemsi Alhaddad
2022 alhaddad@email.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Salkehatchie
Fidele Ngwane 2020 ngwanef@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Salkehatchie
Allen Kanapala 2022 allenkan@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Wanda Fenimore 2020 fenimorw@uscsumter.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Michele Reese
2020  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Santosh Nandi
2022  
Palmetto Colleges
Union
Avery Fouts 2020 foutsam@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Medicine - Greenville Matthew Tucker 2022 matucker@greenvillemed.sc.edu  

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©