Skip to Content

School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment

SEOE End of Semester Kudos!

Congratulations are due to Conor Harrison who has been named a McCausland Fellow by the College of Arts & Sciences!

Lori Ziolkowski has been named this year’s winner of the National Association of Geoscience Teachers Neil Miner Award!  The award recognizes an individual for "exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth sciences.”  Previous winners include our very own John Carpenter back in 1998 and many other top names in geoscience education.

Monica Barra was named an Early Career Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences Gulf Research Program!  It carries an award of $76,000.   She also is an Ann Johnson Institute of Science, Technology, and Society Book Manuscript Workshop Winner to help her get her first manuscript, Good sediment: Race, geology, and the politics of land loss, ready for publication.

Scott White received an NSF award in the amount of $214,382 for his project "Finding hydrothermal chimneys along the Southern East Pacific Rise with machine learning approaches to AUV-based sonar data”.

Dean Hardy received an NSF grant via the University of Georgia, for $25,012 for his project "Coupled Long-Term Impacts of Uneven Racial Development, Exurban Growth, and Sea-Level Rise on Land-Use in Coastal Georgia”.

Congratulations to two new Magellan Scholars, Hannah Walton and Erin Taxon.  Hannah will work with Carol Boggs on “Is Reflectance of Light a Visual Attractant to Mud Puddling Sites for Montane Butterflies?”.  Erin will work with Tom Owens on "Calibration of Automated Crustal Thickness Estimation Methods”.

David Fuente has received two awards from the Environment for Development Initiative.  The first, for $65,648, is for work on  “Subsidies, incentives, and information: Testing approaches to improve customer bill payment in Nairobi, Kenya " and the second, for $61,002, is for  "Water use in the Kenyan commercial Sector:   Measuring price elasticity and coping strategies to deal with unreliability.",

The SEOE also received two ASPIRE awards this month:  Annie Bourbonnais received $14,923 for her  ASPIRE proposal:  Fates of terrestrial dissolved organic nitrogen pulse in estuaries during high loading events” and Lori Ziolkowski received $14,967 for her proposal "Microplastics in South Carolina Waterways: Towards Identifying their Sources and Fate”.

Congratulations to all!!




Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.