Skip to Content

Weather Update: UofSC Columbia campus will be closed Friday, Sept. 30 due to inclement weather. Classes are canceled and only essential personnel are required to report to campus. See for updates.

School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment

SEOE March Kudos

Congratulations to current and recently graduated SEOE students Casey Brayton, Ricky Brokaw, Annie Klyce, Akilan Alwan, and Leon Tran on being awarded prestigious NSF Graduate Research Fellowships, each valued at $138,000 over five years!
Krystyn Kibler and Emily Harden were Honorable Mention recipients.

Equally prestigious, Marine Sciences undergraduate Zoe Screwvala was named this week as a 2020 Goldwater Scholar, valued at $7,500.

SEOE Graduate students Heather Kish and Curtis Szewczyk were recently awarded $1,000 for their research at the Baruch Marine Field Lab as F. John Vernberg Bicentennial Fellows.

Faculty Kudos:

Jenny Pournelle has been named a Magellan Faculty Fellow through the UoSC’s Ann Johnson Institute for Science, Technology, & Society.

Conor Harrison received an NSF grant “Finance and the re-shaping of the U.S. electricity system”, totally $253,015 over 3 years.

Michael Bizimis received a contract from the USGS for “Radiogenic Isotope and Platinum Group Element Analyses” for $19,920.

Tom Owens'  Cooperative Agreement with the USGS for operation of the South Carolina Seismic Network was renewed. $80,000 per year for 5yrs.

Finally, Jackie McClary and Tom Owens were to be honored for 30 years of service at a now-cancelled ceremony in April. 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.