Skip to Content

Department of English Language and Literature

  • Banner Image

Greven Wins University’s Prestigious Russell Research Award

Recognition for a Remarkable Body of Scholarship

Professor David Greven of the Department of English won the University of South Carolina’s 2020 Russell Research Award for the Humanities and Social Sciences. Given annually by the Office of the Provost, the Russell Research Awards are considered the most prestigious prizes for research and scholarship at the University.

“I take the Russell Award very seriously,” Greven said, “as recognition for my work and also affirmation that scholarship is meaningful and worthwhile, and that one must keep seeking knowledge, to wax Melvillean, ‘the ever-moving dawn.’” 

Remarkably productive, Greven is currently at work on three books. He is writing a book on the influence of William Shakespeare and John Milton on the American Romantic writers Herman Melville, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and James Fenimore Cooper, and he is writing the volume on the 1987 Merchant-Ivory film version of Maurice for the Queer Film Classics series. He is also co-editing a book on TV auteur Ryan Murphy, perhaps best known for the series Glee, Nip/Tuck, American Horror Story, and most recently Pose.

Greven has published 11 books since 2005, with research crossing film and media studies, gender and sexuality studies, psychoanalytic theory, and nineteenth-century American literature, as well as numerous articles in premier academic journals. His most recent books include a study of feminist ethics and the 1970s television series The Bionic Woman, a reading of sexuality and cyborg cinema titled Queering the Terminator, and a queer theoretical examination of violence and sexuality in the films of Alfred Hitchcock.

The Office of the Provost sponsors four Russell Research Awards each year in the broad disciplinary categories of Humanities and Social Sciences; Science, Mathematics, and Engineering; Health Sciences; and the Professional Schools. Honoring innovative research or creative achievement among full-time tenure-track faculty, each award comes with a $3,000 prize and recognition at the spring faculty awards ceremony.

Congratulations to Dr. David Greven!

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.