University of South Carolina

Five Faculty Named AAAS Fellows


Five members of the faculty have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

They are S. Michael Angel, Fred M. Weissman Palmetto Chair in Chemical Ecology; Rosemarie Booze, Bicentennial Chair Professor in Behavioral Neuroscience; Mary Anne Fitzpatrick, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and Carolina Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor of Psychology; Lukasz Lebioda, Guy F. Lipscomb Chair in Biochemistry; and Prakash Nagarkatti, Carolina Distinguished Professor, director of the NIH Center of Research Excellence in Inflammatory and Autoimmune Diseases, and university vice president for research.

"Over just the past four years, USC's scientific leadership has been recognized nationally by the election of 21 faculty members as AAAS Fellows," said President Harris Pastides. "The election of this year's Fellows underscores South Carolina's strong contribution to America's global competitiveness in scientific and medical research."

They will be honored on Saturday, Feb. 18, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

AAAS fellowship is bestowed upon members by their peers. This year 539 members were elected because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. AAAS was founded in 1848 and publishes the weekly journal "Science," which has an estimated international readership of 1 million.

S. Michael Angel
S. Michael Angel

Angel was elected for distinguished contributions to analytical spectroscopy and measurement sciences, advances in standoff Raman and laser-induced spectroscopy, and teaching and mentoring students at all levels.


Rosemarie Booze
Rosemarie Booze

Booze was elected for distinguished contributions to the fields of psychology and neuroscience, particularly for mechanistic studies of cognitive and neural adaptations in aging, drug abuse and HIV-1/AIDS.


Mary Anne Fitzpatrick
Mary Anne Fitzpatrick

Fitzpatrick was elected for distinguished contributions to the study of human communications and science administration.



Lukasz Lebioda
Lukasz Lebioda

Lebioda was elected for distinguished contributions to the field of protein biochemistry, particularly for structure-function analysis of enzymatic catalysis.



Prakash Nagarkatti

Nagarkatti was elected for distinguished contributions in the field of immunology, specifically immune regulation, and for providing outstanding leadership as an associate dean to advance education and research.

News and Internal Communications

Posted: 12/14/11 @ 9:45 AM | Updated: 12/14/11 @ 9:48 AM | Permalink



Media Relations

USC Times