University of South Carolina

‘Southern Exposure New Music Series’ kicks off season

The University of South Carolina School of Music opens the 2010-11 “Southern Exposure New Music Series” with The NOW Ensemble, a unique blend of flute, clarinet, electric guitar, double bass and piano instrumentation.

The event, to be held at 7:30 p.m. Sept. 25 in the School of Music recital hall, is free and open to the public.

NOW Ensemble’s performers all have rich and distinguished solo careers that include performances at Carnegie Hall, membership in the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and onstage appearances and studio recordings with indie rockers Sufjan Stevens, The National and Bright Black Morning Light.

NOW’s “Southern Exposure” performance will include works by guest composers Mark Dancigers, Patrick Burke, Alexandra Gardner and Judd Greenstein, as well as selections from the multi-media chamber opera, “The Lives and Deaths of Isabelle Eberhardt,” conceived by composer Missy Mazzoli and filmmaker Stephen Taylor, with vocals by mezzo-soprano Abigail Fischer.

Newsweek magazine describes the NOW Ensemble as “a striking balance between the old and the new that has rarely sounded this good.”

For more information about the “Southern Exposure New Music Series” and other events, visit Read more about the NOW Ensemble at

NOW Ensemble

  • What: Unique blend of flute, clarinet, electric guitar, double bass and piano instrumentation
  • When: Sept. 25, 7:30 p.m.
  • Where: School of Music recital hall

By Office of Media Relations

Posted: 09/14/10 @ 4:30 PM | Updated: 09/14/10 @ 4:28 PM | Permalink