University of South Carolina

Charleston reporter wins award for journalism

Diette Courrégé of the Charleston Post and Courier has won the Taylor/Tomlin Award for Investigative Journalism for her series, “Failing Our Students.”

The award, announced by the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of South Carolina, will be presented at 11 a.m. April 6, in the Carolina Coliseum Room 3001.

“It’s important to recognize the role that in-depth reporting has on shedding a light on things we often want to keep hidden,” said Dr. Carol Pardun, SJMC director. “The failure of some of our schools in teaching students to read is one of those dark shadows we’d often rather not investigate. But what could be more important? I’m thankful that we have journalists like Diette who are willing to dig for the deep story.”

Courrégé’s “Failing Our Students” series is about the literacy struggles of students in the South Carolina Lowcountry. She observed the students’ schools, personal lives and relationships with teachers. The series won second place in Series of Articles, and the Post and Courier won third place in Public Service at the 2010 S.C. Press Association awards.

Courrégé graduated in 2003 with a degree in mass communications from Louisiana State University.

The Taylor/Tomlin Award for Investigative Journalism recognizes enterprising, perceptive and beneficial reporting by journalists whose work is published in a South Carolina daily or weekly newspaper or wire service. The award was created in 2005 by South Carolina businessman Joe E. Taylor Jr. and Donald R. Tomlin Jr. to honor and stimulate the work of investigative journalists. A $5,000 stipend accompanies the award. The School of Journalism and Mass Communications administers the annual competition, and the South Carolina Press Association coordinates the judging.

By Office of Media Relations

Posted: 04/13/10 @ 12:00 AM | Updated: 04/13/10 @ 12:16 PM | Permalink