Skip to Content

Department of Mathematics

Three Breakthrough Awards in Department

Congratulations to Dr. Paula Vasquez and Dr. Zhu Wang on being selected as two of this year’s 2019 Breakthrough Stars! Each year, approximately one dozen of Carolina's junior faculty are selected as Breakthrough Stars. To be considered, candidates must be tenured or tenure-track assistant or associate professors, relatively early career, and demonstrate considerable contributions to their fields in terms of research and scholarly activity while at USC. This award is open to junior faculty working in all disciplines and campuses.

Congratulations also to Zhiyu Wang on being selected as one of this year's 2019 Breakthrough Graduate Scholars.  This award honors graduate students who have shown exceptional promise in their pursuit of research and scholarly careers.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.