Skip to Content

College of Arts and Sciences

Chairs and Directors

Department chairs and program directors are the leaders within the college's academic units, and serve as liaisons between the administration and faculty. Chairs and directors are responsible for stimulating and encouraging diversity and professional growth among faculty and students.

Search by keyword or name to find the director or chair of a specific program, school, center, or institute in the College of Arts and Sciences. Select a link below to filter the list.

Academic Unit Name Title Full Title (hidden column) Phone Email Keywords
(hidden column, sorted by type)
Anthropology Jennifer Reynolds Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-2392  jenreyn@sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Biological Sciences Jeff Twiss Chair, Interim Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4141 twiss@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Chemistry and Biochemistry Ken Shimizu Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-6523 shimizu@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Criminology and Criminal Justice Brandon Applegate Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-7065 applegab@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Earth, Ocean and Environment, School of Tom Owens Chair, Interim Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4590 owens@seoe.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
English Nina Levine Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-7120 levinen@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Geography Caroline Nagel Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-5234 cnagel@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
History Jessica Elfenbein Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-2392  jessicae@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Languages, Literatures and Cultures (LLC) Nicholas Vazsonyi Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-9734 nvazsony@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair
Mathematics Linyuan Lu Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-576-5800 lu@math.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Naval Science  Robert Osterhoudt Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4124 navyrotc@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair
Philosophy Christopher Tollefsen Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4166 ctollefs@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Physics and Astronomy Ralf Gothe Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-9025 gothe@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Political Science Kirk Randazzo Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-3109 randazzo@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Psychology Jane Roberts Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4638 jerobert@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Religious Studies Erin Roberts Chair Acad. Department Chair 401-481-2484 robertej@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Sociology Douglas Anderton Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-6988 danderto@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Statistics Joshua Tebbs Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-576-8765 tebbs@stat.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Theatre and Dance Stephanie Milling Chair, Interim Acad. Department Chair 803-777-0768  smilling@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Visual Art and Design, School of  Laura Kissel Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4236 kissel@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Aerospace Studies, Air Force ROTC Marc Langohr Program Director Academic Program Director 803-777-3448 langohr@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director Military
African American Studies Qiana Whitted Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-7248 whittedq@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director 
Army ROTC, Military Science Louis Frketic Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-3644 frketic@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Program Director Military
Cardiovascular Technology Loren Knapp Program Director Academic Program Director 803-777-2993 lwknapp@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director
Comparative Literature Jie Guo Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-6472 guoji@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director LLC
Dance Program Stephanie Milling Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-0768  smilling@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Program Director 
Film and Media Studies Laura Kissel Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-4236 kissel@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director 
Global Studies Agnes Mueller Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-8444 acmuelle@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director 
Jewish Studies Program Federica Clementi Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-7227 clementi@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director 
Linguistics Mila Tasseva-Kurktchieva Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-8312 tassevak@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director 
Master of Public Administration (MPA) Xuhong Su Program Director Academic Program Director 803-777-2691 suxuhong@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Program Director Graduate 
Museum Management Lana Burgess Program Director Academic Program Director 803-777-5486  lburgess@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Program Director 
Naval Science  Douglas Walker Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-4124 walkerdh@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director 
Women's and Gender Studies Carla Pfeffer Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-4008  pfefferc@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Program Director 
African American Research Kim Simmons Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4832 ksimmons@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director
Ann Johnson Institute for Science, Technology and Society Allison Marsh Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-0041 marsha@mailbox.sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director
Asian Studies, Center for Robert Cox Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4558 coxrh@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Belle Baruch Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences James Pinckney Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-7133 pinckne3@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Bioethics, Center for George Khushf Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-7371  khushf@sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
Civil Rights History, Center for Bobby Donaldson Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-6282 bdonaldson@sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
Confucius Institute Tan Ye Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-6908 yet@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Digital Humanities Matt Simmons Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-2340 simmonwm@mailbox.sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
Electron Microscopy Center  Soumitra Ghoshroy Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-7085 ghoshroy@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Innovative Teaching Incubator Christy Friend Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-576-6024 chfriend@mailbox.sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
Interdisciplinary Mathematics Institute Pencho Petrushev Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4224 pencho@math.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
McCausland Center for Brain Imaging Chris Rorden (co-director) Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4137 rorden@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
McKissick Museum Jane Przybysz Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-7251 jprzybys@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Mind and Brain, Institute for Doug Wedell Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4258 wedell@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Science Education, Center for Bert Ely Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-2768 ely@biol.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Southern Studies, Institute for  Robert Brinkmeyer Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-2340 brinkmey@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
SC Academy of Science Don Jordan Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-7007  djordan@sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
SC Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology (SCIAA) Steve Smith Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-576-6569 smiths@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Walker Institute of International and Area Studies Bob Cox Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4558 coxrh@mailbox.sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 

  


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©