Skip to Content

Office of the Provost


Committee Governance

The Carolina Core Committee is composed of faculty from across all colleges and schools with undergraduate programs, as well as representatives from the Regional campuses and from the Division of Student Affairs and the Department of Academic Support.


Carolina Core Committee Meeting Schedule

The committee meets each semester in Thomas Cooper Library, Room 204. Please see the Carolina Core Committee meeting schedule for 2016-17 below.

  Date Time Location
Summer 2016 July 13, 2016 9:00 - 10:30 am TCL, Room 204
  July 27, 2016 9:00 - 10:30 am TCL, Career Center Room 531
  August 10, 2016 9:00 - 10:30 am TCL, Room 204
  August 24, 2016 9:00 - 10:30 am TCL, Room 204
Fall 2016 September 13, 2016 12:30 - 2:00 pm TCL, Room 204
  November 15, 2016 12:30 - 2:00 pm TCL, Room 204
Spring 2017 February 14, 2017 12:30 - 2:00 pm TCL, Room 204
  April 11, 2017 12:30 - 2:00 pm TCL, Room 204


Meeting Minutes

Meeting minutes from years prior to those listed below are available by request.  Please contact the Office of the Provost.

2016 Meeting Minutes

2015 Meeting Minutes

2014 Meeting Minutes

2013 Meeting Minutes

Archive Recordings and Webcasts


Carolina Core Committee Members and Specialty Team Chairs

Type Affiliation Name Contact Keywords
(hidden column)
Chair Faculty Co-Chair Chris Holcomb
Professor, English Language and Literature, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-4203
holcombc@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Chair Administrative Co-Chair Sandra Kelly
Professor, Psychology
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies

803-777-2808
sjkelly@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Arts and Sciences Douglas Meade
Undergraduate Director, Associate Professor, Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-6183
meade@math.sc.edu
 
Member Arts and Sciences James Cutsinger
Professor, Religious Studies, College of Arts and Science
803-777-4501
cutsinge@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Arts and Sciences Brian Habing
Associate Professor, Statistics, College of Arts and Sciences Curriculum Committee Chair
803-777-3578 bhabing0@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Business, Moore School of Mackenzie King
Co-Director, Undergraduate Division, Moore School of Business
803-777-2191
mackenzie.king@moore.sc.edu
 
Member Engineering and Computing Manton Matthews
Professor and Chair of Computer Science and Engineering, College of Engineering and Computing
803-777-3285
mmm@engr.sc.edu
 
Member Education Rob Dedmon
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Student Affairs, College of Education
803-777-3570
rdedmon@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management Andy Gillentine
Professor and Associate Dean, Sport and Entertainment Management, College of Hospitality, Retail, and Sport Management
803-777-3249
agillentine@hrsm.sc.edu
 
Member Information and Communications Andrea Tanner
Director, School of Journalism and Mass Communications

803-777-4979
alhoffne@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Libraries Joseph Askins
Information Literacy Librarian, Thomas Cooper Library
803-777-2584
jaskins1@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Music Cliff Leaman
Associate Professor of Saxophone, Associate Dean, Director of Undergraduate Studies, School of Music
803-576-5893
cleaman@mozart.sc.edu
 
Member Nursing Susan Beverung
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Studies, Clinical Assistant Professor, College of Nursing
803-777-2467
beverung@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Pharmacy Alfred Moore
Student Services Manager, College of Pharmacy
803-777-6635
moorea@sccp.sc.edu
 
Member Public Health, Arnold School of Sara Corwin
Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Affairs and Clinical Associate Professor, Arnold School of Public Health
803-777-3636
corwins@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Regional Campuses and Extended University Ron Cox
Associate Professor, History, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, USC Lancaster
803-313-7101
roncox@mailbox.sc.edu
Palmetto College
Member Regional Campuses and Extended University Chris Nesmith
Assistant Professor, English, Director of the Evening Program, Extended University
803-777-8155
cnesmit@mailbox.sc.edu
Palmetto College
Member S.C. Honors College Ed Munn Sanchez
Associate Dean, South Carolina Honors College
803-777-5633
ed@schc.sc.edu
 
Member Social Work Daniel Freedman
Undergraduate Program Coordinator and Assistant Professor, College of Social Work
803-777-7939
danf@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Student Affairs and Academic Support Pam Bowers
Associate Vice President, Student Affairs & Academic Support, Assessment
803-777-4172
pjbowers@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Student Affairs and Academic Support Gene Luna
Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
803-777-6911
genel@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Specialty Team Chair Aesthetic and Interpretive Understanding Sarah Williams
Associate Professor, Music History, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-1759
swilliams@mozart.sc.edu
 AIU
Specialty Team Chair Analytical Reasoning & Problem-Solving David Hitchcock
Associate Professor, Statistics, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-7800
hitchcock@stat.sc.edu
 ARP
Specialty Team Chair Effective, Engaged, and Persuasive Communication - Speech Mindy Fenske
Associate Professor, English,
College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-6595
fenske@sc.edu
 CMS
Specialty Team Chair Effective, Engaged, and Persuasive Communication - Written Chris Holcomb
Professor, English Language and Literature, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-4203
holcombc@mailbox.sc.edu
 CMW
Specialty Team Chair Information Literacy David Lankes
Director, School of Library and Information Science
Associate Dean, College of Information and Communications
803-777-3858
rdlankes@mailbox.sc.edu
 INF
Specialty Team Chair Global Citizenship and Multicultural Understanding:
Foreign Language
Judy Kalb
Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures and Cultures,
College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-8454
kalbj@mailbox.sc.edu
 GFL
Specialty Team Chair Global Citizenship and Multicultural Understanding:
Historical Thinking
Vacant    GHS
Specialty Team Chair Global Citizenship and Multicultural Understanding:
Social and Behavioral Sciences
Shelley Smith
Associate Professor, Undergraduate Program Director, Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-3123
shelley-smith@sc.edu
 GSS
Specialty Team Chair Scientific Literacy Jeff Wilson
Associate Professor, Undergraduate DIrector,
Physics and Astronomy,
College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-4650
jwilson@sc.edu
 SCI
Specialty Team Chair Values, Ethics, and Social Responsibility George Khushf
Professor, Philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-0299
khushfg@mailbox.sc.edu
 VSR
Member, Ex-Officio Office of the Provost Tena Crews
Tena Crews, Associate Provost, Academic Programs
803-777-6727
tcrews@hrsm.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Faculty Senate Curricula and Courses Committee Chair Kathleen Kirasic
Associate Professor, Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-2539
kirasic@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Faculty Senate Chair August Grant
Professor, Journalism, College of Information and Communications
803-777-4464
grantae2@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Office of Institutional Assessment and Compliance Sabrina Andrews
Executive Director, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Analytics
803-777-2814
andrews1@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Student Affairs and Academic Support Claire Robinson
Director, University Advising Center
803-777-1212
wittling@mailbox.sc.edu