Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Endowed Chairs and Named Professorships

SmartState Chairs

Since its inception in 2005, the SmartState Program has brought the knowledge and expertise of 43 world-class scientists to South Carolina. Appropriated South Carolina Education Lottery funds and legislatively mandated matching non-state funds provide support for hiring world-class researchers who serve as endowed chairs of the centers. The Office of the Provost nominates faculty to be a SmartState Endowed Chair. 


SmartState Endowed Chairs

Name College Department Title
Benicewicz, Brian Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry CoEE Endowed Chair in Polymer Nanocomposites 
Bennett, Charles Pharmacy Pharmacy CoEE in Medication Safety and Efficacy
Besmann, Theodore Engineering & Computing Mechanical Engineering SmartState Endowed Chair for Transformational Nuclear Technologies
Brooks, John Arnold School of Public Health Health Services, Policy & Management SMARTSTATE Chair in Rehabilitation and Reconstruction Sciences
Cacuci, Dan G. Engineering & Computing Mechanical Engineering CoEE in Nuclear Science and Energy
Hudson, Simon Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management CoEE in Tourism and Economic Development
Lauterbach, Jochen Engineering & Computing Chemical Engineering CoEE Chair in Clean Coal
Lead, Jamie Arnold School of Public Health Environmental Health Sciences South Carolina SmartState Endowed Chair in Environmental  Nanoscience and Risk
Levkoff, Sue Ellen Social Work Social Work Senior SMART CoEE in Community and Social Support
Morad, Martin Medicine Dev., Biology & Anatomy South Carolina Center for Economic Excellence in Regenerative Medicine
Regalbuto, John Engineering & Computing Chemical Engineering CoEE in Renewable Fuels for the Fuel Cell Economy
Reifsnider, Kenneth Engineering & Computing Mechanical Engineering CoEE Endowed Chair in Solid Oxide Fuel Cells
Roninson, Igor Pharmacy Pharmacy CoEE Endowed Chair in Translational Cancer Therapeutics
Rorden, Chris Arts & Sciences Psychology CoEE Endowed Chair in Brain Imaging
Sen, Souvik Medicine Neurology COEE Endowed Chair for Clinical Stroke Research
Snyder, Rita Nursing Nursing CoEE  Endowed Chair for Health Informatics Quality and Safety Evaluation
Twiss, Jeffery Arts & Sciences Biological Sciences SmartState Endowed Chair of Childhood Neurotherapeuthics
Webb, Richard Arts & Sciences Physics & Astronomy COEE Endowed Chair in Experimental Nanoscale Physics
West, Delia Arnold School of Public Health Exercise Sciences SmartState Chair in Technology Center to Advance Healthful Lifestyles