Skip to Content

Office of the Provost


Phi Beta Kappa

Executive Council

At the start of each spring semester, the Executive Council assesses student qualifications as provided in grade reports from USC's Office of the Registrar.

Executive Council Officers

President
Chappell Wilson
Assistant Dean of Administration and External Relations, SC Honors College
cswilson@mailbox.sc.edu

Secretary
Ward Briggs
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Languages, Literatures and Cultures
briggsw@mailbox.sc.edu

Treasurer
Duncan Buell
Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, Engineering and Computing
buell@cec.sc.edu

Past President
Ed Black
Associate Director of Operations, Undergraduate Admissions
blacke@mailbox.sc.edu

Executive Council Members

Cheryl Addy
Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
caddy@mailbox.sc.edu

Lorraine Aun
Director, International Support for Faculty and Staff
aun@mailbox.sc.edu

Mark Cooper
Professor, English Language and Literature, Film and Media Studies Program, College of Arts and Sciences
coopermg@mailbox.sc.edu

Christy Friend
Professor, English Language and Literature, College of Arts and Sciences
Director, Center for Teaching Excellence
chfriend@mailbox.sc.edu

Gwen Geidel
Research Professor, Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences;
Undergraduate Director, School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment;
Director, Environment and Sustainability Program, College of Arts and Sciences
geidel@environ.sc.edu

Michelle Hardy
Senior Director of Development and Alumni Relations
hardymt@mailbox.sc.edu

Eric Holt
Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Arts and Sciences
holt@sc.edu

Kirk Randazzo
Professor, Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences
Director, Carolina Leadership Initiative
randazzo@mailbox.sc.edu

Sarah Wise
Retired Faculty, HRSM
wisel@bellsouth.net


Sandra Kelly (ex-officio)
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies
sjkelly@sc.edu

Malia Peckler (ex-officio)
Administrative Support
peckler@malbox.sc.edu