Skip to Content

University Registrar


2020-21

2020-21 Official Academic Calendar

The University Registrar establishes the official calendar followed by the University of South Carolina system. Access the full current and upcoming semester academic calendars to find key dates and information including holidays, registration dates, payment deadlines, drop or add dates, exams and commencement for each term. 

Fall 2020

Event Date
Faculty Reporting Date Aug. 17, Monday
New Student Convocation Aug. 19, Wednesday
Classes Begin Aug. 20, Thursday
Last day to change/drop a course without a grade of "W" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Aug. 26, Wednesday
Labor Day Holiday (no classes) Sept. 7, Monday
Last day to apply for December graduation Graduation Application Deadline
Last day to drop a course or withdraw without a grade of "WF" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Oct. 12, Monday
Midpoint in Semester Oct. 12, Monday
Fall Break (no classes) TENTATIVE Oct. 15 – 16, Thursday - Friday
General Election Day (no classes) Nov. 3, Tuesday
Thanksgiving Recess (no classes) Nov. 25 – 29, Wednesday – Sunday
Last Day of Classes Dec. 4, Friday
Reading Day Dec. 5, Saturday
Final Examinations (includes exams on Saturday) Dec. 7 – 14, Monday - Monday
Commencement Exercises in Columbia TENTATIVE Dec. 14, Monday

Spring 2021

Event Date
Classes Begin Jan. 11, Monday
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Service Day (no classes) Jan. 18, Monday
Last day to change/drop a course without a grade of "W" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Jan. 19, Tuesday
Last day to apply for May graduation Graduation Application Deadline
Last day to drop a course or withdraw without a grade of "WF" being recorded (Part of Term 30) March 1, Monday
Midpoint in Semester March 1, Monday
Spring Break (no classes) March 7 – 14, Sunday – Sunday
Awards Day April 15, Thursday
Last Day of Classes April 26, Monday
Reading Day April 27, Tuesday
Final Examinations (includes exams on Saturday) April 28 – May 5, Wednesday - Wednesday
Commencement Exercises in Columbia TENTATIVE May 7 – 8, Friday - Saturday

Summer 2021

Please refer to your campus calendars or records office for summer class dates or Self Service Carolina (SSC) for summer schedule information (available Spring 2021).

Event Date
Last day to apply for August graduation Graduation Application Deadline
Independence Day Holiday (no classes) July 5, Monday
Summer Graduation 
(note – there is no Summer Commencement Exercise)
Aug. 15, Sunday

Registration Dates: Columbia Campus

To Be Announced

Payment Deadlines

Payment deadlines for each semester are set by the Bursar's Office. 

Drop / Add / Refund Dates

The dates listed below are for classes that meet for the full term during the Fall 2020 or Spring 2021 semester. Each part of term has specific drop, add, and refund dates. Review your schedule in Self Service Carolina (SSC) to determine the part of term for your classes.

Event Date
Fall 2020: Last day to change/drop a course without a grade of "W" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Aug. 26, Wednesday
Fall 2020: Last day to drop a course or withdraw without a grade of "WF" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Oct. 12, Monday
Spring 2021: Last day to change/drop a course without a grade of "W" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Jan. 19, Tuesday
Spring 2021: Last day to drop a course or withdraw without a grade of "WF" being recorded (Part of Term 30) March 1, Monday

Holidays 2020-21

Event Date
Labor Day Holiday (no classes) Sept. 7, Monday
Fall Break (no classes) TENTATIVE Oct. 15 – 16, Thursday - Friday
Thanksgiving Recess (no classes) Nov. 25 – 29, Wednesday – Sunday
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Service Day (no classes) Jan. 18, Monday
Spring Break (no classes) March 7 – 14, Sunday – Sunday
Independence Day Holiday (no classes) July 5, Monday

Final Exams: Columbia Campus

See the complete exam schedule. The final exam schedule is designed for full semester length classes. Not all class meeting times are reflected. Your instructor will announce your exam time if it is not listed.