Skip to Content

Leadership and Service Center

About Student Government

Student Government’s mission is to empower the students at the University of South Carolina to achieve, discover, and excel in everything they do through innovation, cultivating meaningful relationships, and celebrating the rich tradition we share as Gamecocks. We are here to identify, address, and advocate for students' needs, concerns and interests.

A Brief History

Since 1908, Student Government has had a distinguished history at the University of South Carolina.  During the first years of the University of South Carolina, student life was dominated by the campus' literary societies. In later years, officers were elected to lead each academic class. Today, Student Government consists of four executive officers (president, vice president, speaker of the student senate, and treasurer), the president's cabinet, a senate, a freshman council, a constitutional council, an elections commission, a communications team, three lobbying agencies, and the members of university committees. 

Current Leadership

The executive cabinet serves as an advisory board to the student body president and is comprised of students seeking to better the university through their particular areas of concentration.  

Position Name Contact Information
Division Secretary of Campus Wellness Mariah Hoover
Division Secretary of Government Relations
Reese Lycan
Division Secretary of Justice (Attorney General) Maeve Smith
Division Secretary of Student Services Ariel Pantoja
Division Secretary of University Relations
KJ Lemon
Deputy Secretary of Academics
Maddie Moore
Deputy Secretary of
Cole Creighton
Deputy Secretary of Community Relations
Abigal Foster
Deputy Secretary of Disability Services
Tristan Bonomo
Deputy Secretary of
Greek Relations
Turner Woley
Deputy Secretary of Health and Wellness
Huda Falous
Deputy Secretary of Inclusion & Equity
Talia Adkins
Deputy  Secretary of IT & Infrastructure
Bryan Scheffler
Deputy Secretary of Safety and Transportation
Frankie Macchia
Deputy Secretary of Sustainability
Peter Sutton
Director of the National Lobbying Agency
Emily Rabon
Director of the State Lobbying Agency
Mary Grace Laborowski
Director of the Local Lobbying Agency
London Patel

The Senate at the University of South Carolina comprises 50 Senators and 8 committees. The 50 senate seats represent each college, CarolinaLIFE, and the Joseph F. Rice School of Law. Each committee is led by a chairman appointed by the Speaker of the Senate and ratified by the Senate. The Senate has the authority to pass legislation on a variety of matters, from funding allocation to administrative policies. USC students are welcome to attend Senate sessions at 5:30 pm on Wednesdays in the Russell House Theater. They can also apply to fill a vacant seat on Garnet Gate. The application can be accessed HERE

William Barnes  

Aiden Gruner  

Emma Cumby  

Anitta John  

Lauren Anderson  

Timothy (Jordan) Barr   

Bella Brasch  

Natalia Byer

Steven Carredano Mendez  

Kaelyn Felix

Laukhika Kasetty  

Camden Kaye  

Mia LaPinta

Caleb (Donnie) Lapsley  

Lennox (Lawson) Windsor  

Issac Workman

Evelyn (Evie) Ellis   

Soraya Remaili  

Rodrigo Rojas     

William Wenzel  

Tate Few


Bryson Patterson

Amelia Gay

Caleb Geddens  

Mackenzie Mozzo  

Amaya Sowell

Isabella Miller

Jackson Matthews  

Stone Pillsbury  

Jorge J. Resto

Joshua Wahl  

Ava Rongaus

Tyler Morgan   

Zoe Hopkins 

Carson Neeves

William Zheng

William Castellow



The Comptrollers serve as the financial advisors to student organizations, assisting them in their understanding of relevant paperwork, deadlines, budget preparation processes, and the allocation and funding processes. They also assist the student body treasurer in ensuring that student organizations have all the resources needed to voice their desires for funding.

Name Email Address

Natalia Berti
Chief Comptroller
Alex Litgen
Katie Wilson
Steve O'Callaghan
Kevin Mathy
Ali Michaut
Aiden Campbell
Eleanor McMakin
Olivia Callahan
Jack Maguire

The Student Government Communications Team serves as the foremost advisors to the Student Body Executive Officers on communications, media relations, public relations, and specific policy stances. The team consists of graphic designers, photographers, videographers and more that help promote Student Government programs and initiatives through external communications. Follow student government on all social media platforms found below.

Position Name Contact Information
Co-Director of Communication Catherine Hannah
Co-Director of Communication
Madeline Work
Visual Communications Director
Zoe Kennedy
Director of Design
Ava Andrews
Photographer / Videographer
Caleb Dozier


Constitutional Council (CC) is the Judicial Branch of Student Government. Consisting of four Associate Justices and one Chief Justice, the Council maintains the Student Government Codes and Constitution, and interprets them when there is a dispute on their meaning. The CC can also resolve internal disputes about the governing documents of student organizations.

Chief Justice: Joseph Buchmaier

Associate Justice: Bakari Jackson

Submit a Case

2024-2025 Student Government Organizational Chart

SG Org Chart


Connect With Us


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.