Skip to Content

Leadership and Service Center

About Student Government

Student Government’s mission is to empower the students at the University of South Carolina to achieve, discover, and excel in everything they do through innovation, cultivating meaningful relationships, and celebrating the rich tradition we share as Gamecocks. We are here to identify, address, and advocate for students' needs, concerns and interests.

A Brief History

Since 1908, Student Government has had a distinguished history at the University of South Carolina.  During the first years of the University of South Carolina, student life was dominated by the campus' literary societies. In later years, officers were elected to lead each academic class. Today, Student Government consists of four executive officers (president, vice president, speaker of the student senate, and treasurer), the president's cabinet, a senate, a freshman council, a constiutional council, an elections commission, a communications team, three lobbying agencies, and the members of university committees. 

Current Leadership

The executive cabinet serves as an advisory board to the student body president and is comprised of students seeking to better the university through their particular areas of concentration.  

Position Name Contact Information
Attorney General   Rebecca Fisher  
 Secretary of Academics Sarah Noonan snoonan@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Alumni Relations Julia Vogel  Jkvogel@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Athletics Sierra Stewart sierrais@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Campus Outreach Jenna Wilson jlw20@email.sc.edu
Secretary of Carolina Life Samantha Greenway greenaws@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Community Relations  Sheila Lynn sl18@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Government Relations Zechariah Willoughby willougz@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Greek Affairs Jack Lind jalind@email.sc.edu
Secretary of Health and Wellness  Payton Ramsey paramsey@email.sc.edu 
 Secretary of Inclusion and Equity Reylan Cook reylan@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Safety and Transportation  Maia Porzio mporzio@email.sc.edu 
 Secretary of Student Services Ben Harris bch2@email.sc.edu 
Secretary of Sustainability Mckenzie Coon mmcoon@email.sc.edu
 Secretary of University Relations  Uriah Chapman uchapman@email.sc.edu 
 Secretary of Veterans Affairs Bobby Herpel rherpel@email.sc.edu 

The Senate is comprised of 50 Senators and 10 committees. Each committee is headed by a committee chairman assigned by the speaker and approved by the Senate.

The Senate has the opportunity to pass legislation in all non-academic fields. Legislation addresses issues ranging from the dispersal of funding to university administrative policy. All UofSC students are encouraged to voice their opinions by attending Senate sessions, by submitting suggestions through the Suggestion Box, or by applying to be in Senate.

The Student Senate meets at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesdays in the Senate Chambers on the third floor of the Russell House.

Toneia Douglas
toneia@email.sc.edu

Alex Hunter
ashunter@email.sc.edu 

Neil Brandon Patrick
npatrick@email.sc.edu

Raphael Ofendo Reyes
rlreyes@email.sc.edu

Emma Gaskins
egaskins@email.sc.edu
Patrick Holt Greene
pgreene008@gmail.com

Grace Marie Gunter
gmgunter@email.sc.edu

Miriam El Geneidy
Mariame@email.sc.edu 

John David Jacobus
jjacobus@email.sc.edu

Sheila Claire Lynn
SL18@email.sc.edu

Morgianna McDevitt
morgiana@email.sc.edu

Sawyer McDuffie
mcduffs@email.sc.edu

Sooyeon Oh
sooyeon@email.sc.edu

Emma Scott
ecs9@email.sc.edu

Ryan Dabbs
rgdabbs@email.sc.edu 

Quin Carolina
quinncarolina@gmail.com

Claire Outz
coutzts@email.sc.edu 

Elizabeth Hendrickson
eah1@email.sc.edu

Sierra Stewart
sierrais@email.sc.edu

Katherine Zeller
kmzellermail@gmail.com

Sara Hamilton
sch1@email.sc.edu

Anna Dunbar
apdunbar@email.sc.edu 

Riley Phillips
rbp@email.sc.edu

 LeAnne Davison
davisont@email.sc.edu

Naja Hough
nhough@email.sc.edu 

Riley Rodgers
rbp@email.sc.edu 

 Dylan Malik Butler
butlerdm@email.sc.edu

Tiara Hebron
thebron@email.sc.edu 

 Katia Livas
elivas@email.sc.edu 

Jenna Cameron
jennaec@email.sc.edu

Deandre Janell Davis
djd2@email.sc.edu

Jackson Andrew Hornsby
jhornsby@email.sc.edu

John Arthur Lind
jalind@email.sc.edu

Morgan McDonald
mkm18@email.sc.edu 

Michelle Long
mll3@email.sc.edu 

Asaru Buffalo 
abuffalo@email.sc.edu 

Kamryn Phlegar
kphlegar@email.sc.edu 

Dea Skenderi
skenderi@email.sc.edu 

Mariah Cochran
mariahhc@email.sc.edu

Claire Windsor
cwindsor@email.sc.edu

Nicholas Prieto
nprieto@email.sc.edu

Whitney Garland
wgarland@email.sc.edu

Molley Lynn Jenkins
molley@email.sc.edu

 

The Comptrollers serve as the financial advisors to student organizations, assisting them in their understanding of relevant paperwork, deadlines, budget preparation processes, and the allocation and funding processes. They also assist the student body treasurer in ensuring that student organizations have all the resources needed to voice their desires for funding.

Name Email Address

Sam Courson
Chief Comptroller

scourson@email.sc.edu
Zak Phaturos phaturos@email.sc.edu 
Todd Thomas toddat@email.sc.edu 
Juliana Drechsel drechsel@email.sc.edu 
Andrew Crawford atc3@email.sc.edu 
Sarah White sew18@email.sc.edu 

The Student Government Communications Team serves as the foremost advisors to the Student Body Executive Officers on communications, media relations, public relations, and specific policy stances. The team consists of graphic designers, photographers, videographers and more that help promote Student Government programs and initiatives through external communications. Follow student government at @UofSCSG on all social media platforms.

Director of Communications: Aidan Baker
Email: sasgcom@mailbox.sc.edu 

Constitutional Council (CC) is the Judicial Branch of Student Government. Consisting of four Associate Justices and one Chief Justice, the Council maintains the Student Government Codes and Constitution, and interprets them when there is a dispute on their meaning. The CC can also resolve internal disputes about the governing documents of student organizations.

Chief Justice: Robert Carthcart III
Email: saccoun@mailbox.sc.edu 
Submit a Case
 

Connect With Us

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©