Skip to Content

Department of African American Studies


USC professor wins PEN/Faulkner award for her debut novel

English and African American Studies professor Claire Jiménez has won the PEN/Faulkner Award, one of the highest prizes for American fiction, recognizing her debut novel "What Happened to Ruthy Ramirez" as the top novel of 2023. In addition to a cash prize, Jiménez has earned validation for her longtime dream of professional writing.

Congratulations to the 2022 Grace Jordan McFadden Winners

Kayla King and Reylan Cook are this year's Grace Jordan McFadden Winners.

A "monumental" award for Wideman-Davis Dance

Wideman-Davis Dance duo Thaddeus Davis and Tanya Wideman-Davis, associate professors in the African American Studies Program have been awarded a near two-million-dollar grant from the Mellon Foundation to expand Migratuse Ataraxia into a much broader initiative.

Author, activist Angela Davis to speak at UofSC with Nikki Finney

AFAM Studies to host Benjamin Crump, renowned civil rights attorney

Benjamin Crump, renowned trial lawyer for justice, is set to be the UofSC AFAM Studies Program guest speaker at 7 p.m., March 24 in the Campus Room at Capstone.

Invisible No More

a comprehensive book of essays about the history of African Americans at the University of South Carolina set to launch on MLK Day

23rd Annual Robert Smalls Lecture and Roundtable October 29th

This year's event will keep with the protocol of the times, and be held as a virtual program, but still uphold its tradition offering a crowd-pleasing talk with a dynamic speaker. Following the talk, a distinguished panel will hold a roundtable audience discussion on the importance of voting.

What We're Teaching in AFAM Studies

"Afro-Asian Connections in American Culture" Prof. Seulghee Lee

2019-2020 Grace Jordan McFadden recipient

Congratulations to AFAM Studies 2019-2020 Grace Jordan McFadden winner, Maya Morris.

New AFAM Studies professor

5 questions with new AFAM Studies professor, Alyssa Collins

Upcoming Events

Upcoming AFAM events in September and October.

Sex Offender Residence Restrictions and Homelessness

Hundreds of South Carolina sex offenders are released every year from prison. A key barrier to these offenders re-entering society, is finding housing.


Artistic directors Tanya Wideman-Davis and Thaddeus Davis have been selected to participate in Momentum

AFAM Studies Director Pens New Book

African American Studies Director and English professor Qiana Whitted has just written and released her latest book "EC Comics: Race, Shock and Social Protest."

Migratuse Ataraxia debut

If you've ever wondered what life was like for enslaved Africans, Associate Professors Tanya Wideman-Davis and Thaddeus Davis are going to take us (back) there.

Black Women in Folklore

"Black Women in Folklore," AFAM 398-Y01/WGST 430, taught by Nancy Tolson, AFAM

Young, Gifted, and Black

Young, Gifted, and Black: An Interview with Comic Book Writer Chuck Brown

Freedom in Congo Square

African American Studies Helps Bring Award-Winning Author to Columbia

AFAM goes to Washington

The AFAM Studies Program is going to Washington, D.C for Fall Break this October 10 - 13, 2019.

AFAM Studies' Students Face the Past and Future in Charleston

AFAM students stepped back in time to study how the horrors of slavery impacts their lives and social injustices today.

Grace Jordan McFadden Award Winner

Congratulations to Antionna Fuller, 2018 Grace Jordan McFadden Award winner.

Andrew Billingsley Faculty Award

Congratulations to Gloria Boutte named 2018 Andrew Billingsley Faculty Award winner.

Andrew Billingsley Community Leadership Award

Congratulations to Darion McCloud, 2018 recipient of the Andrew Billingsley Community Leadership Award.

New interim director of IAAR

Kimberly Simmons named new interim director of IAAR.

Isom-Scott's new co-authored article published in national journal

Deena Isom-Scott, assistant professor in African American Studies and Criminology and Criminal Justice, co-authored the article...


News Archive

2022     2021    2020    2019    2018     2017

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.