Skip to Content

Department of Biological Sciences


Dr. Nathan Senner talks in an REI video about his joined passions: research and running!

Discover how a mouse has evolved to become the most extreme endurance athlete on the planet

New species of Caulobacter bacteriophages named after Dr. Bert Ely!

Meet the new Bertelyvirus!

Jenny Linscott and Dr. Nathan Senner published a new study in the journal Ornithological Applications

Discover the many reasons why birds make stops during their migratory journeys

Dr. Sofia Lizarraga and her lab members Mara Cowen and Paul Brito Vargas published a new study in Science Translational Medicine

Learn more about the mechanisms causing Christianson syndrome, a neurological disease associated with reduced brain growth.

Jennifer Linscott wrote a book review for the Incubator for Teaching Innovation

Learn more about "The Art of Gathering: How We Meet and Why It Matters"

The Patel lab published a new study in Biochemical Journal

Discover how our innate immunity detects viral pathogenic molecules and initiates antiviral signaling via pattern recognition receptors.

Dr. Melissa Ellermann's recent study featured in a science podcast!

Discover how to inhibit Escherichia coli virulence in the intestinal epithelium.

Alexia Crockett publishes a Research Highlights in eNeuro

Learn more about a protein that influences fear by acting on microtubules in oligodendrocytes

The Speiser lab published a new study in the journal Arthropod Structure & Development

Learn more about the orbital hoods that cover the head and eyes of the snapping shrimp!

Michelle Passerotti received a Breakthrough Graduate Scholar Award

The UofSC Breakthrough Graduate Scholar Award recognizes exceptional graduate students who demonstrate excellence in the classroom and make considerable contributions to research and scholarly activities in their field.

Dr. Jay Pinckney received a Breakthrough Leadership in Research Award

The UofSC Breakthrough Leadership in Research Award celebrates senior faculty who take a multifaceted approach to inspiring excellence in research.

Discoveries from the Lizarraga lab featured in Spectrum news!

Learn more about the genetic causes and mechanisms of autism spectrum disorders

Alex Barth, Jake Swanson, and Mani Raja Keerthi awarded a SPARC Graduate Research Grant

Sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Research, the Support to Promote Advancement of Research and Creativity, or SPARC, Graduate Research Grant is a merit-based award designed to ignite research and creative excellence across all disciplines at UofSC.

Welcome to Dr. Melissa Ellermann, our new Assistant Professor

Learn more about Dr. Ellermann's research on the gut microbiota!

Congratulations to Dr. Hexin Chen on his promotion to full professor

Full professors have achieved recognition as experts in their field at a national and international level.

Congratulations to our new Magellan scholars!

The Magellan Scholar program was created by UofSC to enrich the academic experience of our undergraduates through research opportunities in all disciplines.

The Twiss lab published an article in Nature Reviews Neuroscience

Discover the mechanisms that allow axons to extend for tremendously long distances in our body

The Waldman lab published a new study in the journal DNA repair

Learn more about the role of Progerin, a protein found at high levels in patients with Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria Syndrome

Dr. Jay Pinckney becomes a fellow of the AAAS!

Being elected as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science is an honor bestowed by a scientist's peers to recognize distinguished contributions to science.

Dr. Tim Mousseau was awarded a grant from the SC Space Grant Consortium/NASA

Dr. Tim Mousseau was awarded a grant from the SC Space Grant Consortium/NASA to study the effects of ionizing radiation on plant germination.

Michelle Passerotti and Joe Quattro just published a study in Frontiers in Marine Science

Learn more about the oceanic whitetip shark

Dr. Nathan Senner awarded a grant from the National Fish & Wildlife Foundation/FWS/DOI

Dr. Senner was just awarded a grant from the National Fish & Wildlife Foundation/FWS/DOI to conduct a study focused on investigating and protecting critical nocturnal roosts; whimbrel at Deveaux Bank.

Kate Levasseur and Joe Quattro published a new study in Animal Conservation

Learn more about hawksbill turtles!

GABS students volunteered to do some river clean-up!

A great initiative to clean up the Smith Branch waterway at Earlewood Park

Olivia Spead wins the 2021 Aquaneering Art of Science photomicrography contest

Check out an amazing picture of the visual system in zebrafish


2021    2020     2019     2018     2017     2016

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.