Skip to Content

Department of Biological Sciences

Congratulations to our new Magellan scholars!

The Magellan Scholar Program was created by the UofSC to enrich the academic experience of our undergraduates through research opportunities in all disciplines from science, technology, and medicine, to theatre, music, and art. By providing access to faculty mentoring relationships and a professional research experience, UofSC enables students to creatively explore their interests at a more in-depth level than can be attained in the classroom. Each Magellan Scholar receives up to $3,000 to help fund the research project, competing for this award with the submission of a research, scholarship, or creative project proposal developed in collaboration with the Scholar’s faculty mentor.

Congrats to ou undergraduate researchers who were were announced as Magellan Scholar Award winners:

  • Mia Joseph will conduct research on the "Developmental Windows When Exposure to Antibiotics Increase the Risk of Early Onset Colorectal Cancer" with Dr. Marj Pena.
  • Mary McElveen will test the hypothesis that "Disrupted axonal mRNA transport links mitochondrial function to neuropathy" under the mentorship of Dr. Jeff Twiss and Irene Dalla Costa.
  • Ian Jin will conduct research on the "Phenotypic Responses of Hemiselmis pacifica in Fluctuating Spectral Environments" with Dr. Tammi Richardson.
  • Esha Hegde will be "Quantitively Observing the Effects of a High-Sugar Diet on Germ Line Stem Cell Proliferation" under the supervision of Dr. Alissa Armstrong.
  • Ashlyn Gotberg will study the "Changes in focal adhesions and local translation in Down syndrome" under the mentorship of Dr. Kristy Welshhans and Nikita Kirkise.
  • Colin Finney will conduct research on "The Role of Cannabinoid Receptor 1 in Murine Models of Crohn’s Disease" with Dr. Melissa Ellermann.
  • Mary Eubanks will study the "Seasonality of Trichodesmium in the Sargasso Sea" under the guidance of Dr. Josh Stone.
  • Savannah Bowers will conduct a "A Developmental Time Course of WWP1 Expression in the Mouse Heart" under the supervision of Dr. Lydia Matesic.
  • Samuel Adkins will study the effects of "Repressing ZINC FINGER PROTEIN genes during Floral Induction" with Dr. Mingli Xu.
  • David Abdulrahman will study the "Influence of Fish Predation and Light Availability on Eye Size in Natural Populations of Daphnia" under the mentorship of Dr. Jeff Dudycha.
  • Merissa Smith will be "Characterizing the role of CST in telomere biology, DNA replication and DNA repair" under the supervision of Dr. Jason Stewart.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.