Skip to Content

Department of Philosophy

Awards and Scholarships

The Department is pleased to recognize the achievements of its students with the following awards.

Josiah Morse Award in Philosophy

Josiah Morse was the first Jewish Professor at USC, and for most of the time of his tenure at the Department of Philosophy (1911-46) its sole member. Most memorable are is attempts to improve racial relations in the South through education and communication. The Josiah Morse Award in Philosophy is awarded in his memory each year to seniors who have demonstrated a superb academic achievement in the study of philosophy. The student(s) must major in philosophy.


Edna W. and Foster E. Tait Scholarship Award

The Tait Scholarship is awarded annually to a senior majoring in philosophy in his or her last semesters of study at USC to help defray the cost of tuition. The student must show excellence in her/his achievement in philosophy and demonstrate financial need.

Each year, we ask for applications for the award – make sure that you are included on our philosophy majors mailing list once you declare your major!

For your application, we ask for the following:

1. a statement (2 pages, standard font in 12 pt, double-spaced with 1-inch margins), in which you outline your achievements in Philosophy (GPA, best courses, best paper, etc.), and in which you explain how the fellowship would help you meet your financial need as regards tuition

2. your best philosophy paper to date

3. one short letter of recommendation from a faculty member (preferably from Philosophy)


James W. Oliver Award in Logic

The James W. Oliver Logic Award, given in honor of the former chair of the Department, is awarded to the undergraduate or graduate student(s) who have done the best work in formal logic (usually as measured in class performance in PHIL 511 Symbolic Logic) and its applications in regard to philosophical positions or arguments.


Graduate Teaching Award

Awarded for sustained, creative, and dedicated efforts in the philosophy classroom (i.e. excellence in teaching and assisting as a graduate student).


Richard T. Greener Graduate Student Award

The Richard T. Greener Award, given in honor of the first African American professor and instructor of philosophy at the University of South Carolina, is awarded for overall achievement in graduate studies in philosophy (i.e. excellent work as a graduate student, including: course work; presentations at conferences; valuable participation in department functions and events).

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.