Skip to Content

College of Nursing

  • Dr. Stacy L. Collier, Dr. Jeannette O. Andrews, Dr. Kahlil A. Demonbreun

College honors alumni award recipients at alumni oyster roast

The College of Nursing awarded the 2016 Outstanding Nurse Alumnus awards at the inaugural Alumni Oyster Roast on Friday, Nov. 4. This year’s recipients are Dr. Stacy L. Collier, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, CENP, CPHQ, ’97 BSN, ’00 MSN, and Dr. Kahlil A. Demonbreun, DNP, RNC-OB, WHNP-BC, ANP-BC, FAANP, ’94 BSN, ’98 MSN.

Collier is the chief nursing officer of KershawHealth in Camden, South Carolina. She received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the UofSC College of Nursing and recently completed her DNP in Nurse Executive Leadership from the University of North Florida.

Collier was a Palmetto Gold Nursing Excellence Award winner in 2006, graduated from the SCHA Management Academy in 2009, and was named KershawHealth Thoroughbred in 2009 and 2013. In addition, she is a Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality; Nurse Executive, Advanced - Board Certified; Certified Executive in Nursing Practice; and a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt. She is vice president/president-elect of the USC College of Nursing Partnership Board and currently serves as a member of the SCHA Solutions Board, Central Carolina Nursing Advisory Board and the Mid-Carolina AHEC Board.

Demonbreun is a practicing women’s health nurse practitioner and the women’s health medical director at the WJB Dorn Veteran Affairs Medical Center in Columbia. In addition to his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in nursing from the UofSC College of Nursing, Demonbreun received his DNP from the Medical University of South Carolina.

He is a fellow in the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), is the AANP State Representative for South Carolina and serves as advisor on the AANP Health Policy Committee. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the National Certification Corporation. On the state level, he serves on the Board of Directors for the South Carolina Nurses Association, Chair for the South Carolina Nurses Association Advanced Practice Registered Nurse chapter, and Chair for the South Carolina Board of Nursing’s Advanced Practice Committee.

Upper division nursing students Sydney Elmore and Bradley Quarles introduced Dr. Collier and Dr. Demonbreun. Awards were presented by Dean Jeannette Andrews.

For past award recipients and information on nominating alumni for the 2017 awards, please click here.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.