Skip to Content

College of Nursing

  • 2018 Philanthropy Award Winners

College recognizes donors, students, award winners

The College of Nursing recognized scholarship donors, recipients and philanthropy award winners at the Scholar Donor Recognition and Awards Presentation event on Friday, April 27, at the USC Alumni Center. 

Dean Jeannette Andrews and scholarship donor Boyce Haigler spoke at the event in addition to and nursing scholarship recipients. Student speakers included Bradley Quarles, a senior BSN student and recipient of the Merle and Eunice Rish Medhurt Scholarship, and Melissa Felder, a MSN alumna and recipient of the Edna M. Swartzbeck Scholarship. 

Seven Philanthropy Awards were presented on behalf of the college. Betty Joyce (B.J.) Roof was the recipient of the Dean’s Distinguished Service Award for her commitment and service to the college. B.J. is a dedicated member of the Executive Advisory Council and a founding member and chair of the new Alumni Council.

The Ruth and Rallie Seigler Spirit of Giving Award recognizes those that have played a significant role in advancing the college’s mission in one or more ways through philanthropy, volunteerism and advocacy, significantly increasing the visibility of the nursing profession and the issues of the College of Nursing. This year’s recipients were Gary W. Lee and Dr. Brenda B. Nauful.

The Legacy of Caring Award is given to those that play a significant role in advancing the college’s mission and/or the nursing profession in one or more significant ways. They demonstrate philanthropic leadership by personally contributing to the college or that inspiring others to contribute; serve as a strong and effective advocate for the profession of nursing and the CON through leadership in the community or political affairs, and make a positive impact on the community. This year’s recipients were Beth Bernstein, Jeanne Gallman Felder and Karen Thompson.

The New Morning Foundation was presented with the Excellence in Corporate Philanthropy Award for their continued support of the college and health care in the community. Dr. Stephanie Burgess, the recipient of the Choose Well Initiative, partnered with New Morning Foundation to launch a statewide plan to increase contraceptive use and decrease unwanted pregnancies in South Carolina. The foundation was represented by Bonnie Kapp, Amy Mattison, Stephanie Isaacs and Angie Olawsky.

View photos from the event on our Facebook page.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.