Skip to Content

College of Nursing

  • Banner Image

College students, faculty, staff receive honors in excellence

These awards validate hard work, inspire pride, and open doors to opportunities. They recognize excellence, drive motivation, and enhance the institution's reputation.

This year the College of Nursing introduced a new award, The Crowell Spirit Award, which was given to an undergraduate student who exemplified generosity of kindness, care for others, and who always exhibited individual concern for others. This award was developed by the college’s advising staff in memory of colleague, Francoise Crowell. It stands as a tribute to the enduring impact and legacy of a remarkable individual whose guiding light continues to inspire and uplift, even in her absence.

The inaugural Crowell Spirit Award was awarded to BSN graduating student Mary Kay for her blend of kindness, generosity, and genuine care and concern for the well-being of others. She will be a NICU RN at Prisma Richland Hospital.

The 2023 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award was presented to Dr. Teresa Bowers for her exceptional commitment to aligning course content with student needs while maintaining empathy and proactivity. Faculty nominators praised her for striking a balance between rigorous standards and compassionate support, ultimately making a significant difference in her students’ success and lives. 

The 2023 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award was presented to Dr. Jackie Haverkamp for empowering DNP students through innovative teaching methods. Her manuscript, "How to Translate DNP Projects into Professional Manuscript Submissions," guides students in preparing their work for journal submissions. According to the faculty members who nominated her, she fosters peer mentoring discussions, enriching students learning experiences. 

The university’s Staff Senate launched a universitywide staff recognition program. College of Nursing’s Business Director Faith Young and Director of Undergraduate Student Affairs Heidi Waltz were among the nominees. Staff comprises nearly 60 percent of all employees at USC and why their work is essential to the university.

Additional college awards presented in May 2024:

  • 2024 DNP Project Award, Dr. Jessica Gonzalez
  • 2024 Excellence in Preceptorship Award, Carter Hassinger
  • 2024 Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award, Dr. Deitra Watson
  • 2024 Outstanding Health Agency Commitment Award, Dr. Freddie Strange on behalf of The Free Medical Clinic

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.