Skip to Content

My Arnold School

Call for Abstracts! 12th Annual James E. Clyburn Health Disparities Lecture

The poster session at the 12th Annual James E. Clyburn Health Disparities Lecture (held on April 23 at 10 a.m. at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center) will showcase health disparities research and practice being conducted by faculty, staff and students at the University of South Carolina. Abstracts submitted by individuals from other academic institutions and community organizations describing their efforts to eliminate health disparities are also welcomed. This poster session is an opportunity for individuals to share their health disparities research and practice with others and address this year’s theme: “Turbulent Times: Navigating towards health equity.”

Structured abstracts of 300 words or less that describe health disparities research, particularly in areas of the science of health disparities, social justice, and special populations, may be submitted. Abstracts previously presented at conferences and/or published in peer-reviewed journals will also be considered, provided that there are no restrictions by the conference and/or journal. All abstracts will be reviewed using a peer review process. A poster session will be held during the reception immediately following the lecture. Due to space restrictions, a limited number of abstracts (those receiving the highest scores) will be selected for the poster session. Other selected abstracts will be printed in the poster booklet with permission from the abstract authors.

Submission and acceptance of an abstract implies that at least one of the authors will be present during the poster session. Additional information about the poster session will be emailed to the corresponding authors of selected abstracts prior to the event.

The abstract submission deadline is Friday, March 8.

Submit abstracts electronically using the following link: Abstract Submission Form.

For more information, please contact the poster session organizers below. 

 Dr. M. Mahmud Khan, 
 Dr. Bankole Olatosi,  
 Dr. Toni Torres-McGehee,

This event is co-sponsored by the SC Department of Health and Environmental Control.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.