Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Phi Beta Kappa

Executive Council

At the start of each spring semester, the Executive Council assesses student qualifications as provided in grade reports from USC's Office of the Registrar.

Executive Council Officers 2023-2024

Gwendelyn Geidel 
Affiliate Faculty and Distinguished Research Professor Emerita, 
School of Earth, Ocean and Environment 
College of Arts and Sciences 

Vice President (President-Elect) 
Kathy Snediker
Research & Instruction Librarian; History and Social Sciences Librarian
University Libraries

D. Eric Holt
Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
College of Arts and Sciences

Douglas Meade
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
College of Arts and Sciences

Sarah B. Wise
Retired Faculty
College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management


Executive Council Members

Lorraine Aun 
Faculty Fulbright Coordinator, 
Office for International Scholars

Ward Briggs 
Distinguished Carolina Professor Emeritus, Languages, Literatures and Cultures
College of Arts and Sciences 

Ron Cox 
Dean, Palmetto College Columbia 
Palmetto College

Jack Goldsmith
Clinical Professor, Cell Biology & Anatomy
School of Medicine Columbia

Jennifer Gunter
College of Arts and Sciences

Mary Horton 
Assistant Dean 
University Libraries 

Craig Keeney
Cataloging Librarian, 
South Caroliniana Library

Thomas Lekan
Professor, History 
College of Arts and Sciences

Clifford Scott 
Retired, former Director, USC Equal Opportunity Programs

Alicia Wilson  
Professor, School of the Earth, Ocean & Environment, 
College of Arts and Sciences 

Chappell Wilson 
Assistant Dean for Administration 
South Carolina Honors College  

Lara Lomicka Anderson (ex-officio) 
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.