Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Phi Beta Kappa

Executive Council

At the start of each spring semester, the Executive Council assesses student qualifications as provided in grade reports from USC's Office of the Registrar.

Executive Council Officers 2019-2020

President
D. Eric Holt
Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
College of Arts and Sciences
holt@sc.edu

President-Elect
Heather Heckman
Director of Moving Image Research Collections
University Libraries
heckmanh@mailbox.sc.edu

Secretary
Ward Briggs
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Languages, Literatures and Cultures
briggsw@mailbox.sc.edu

Treasurer
Duncan Buell
Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, Engineering and Computing
buell@cec.sc.edu

Historian
Sarah Wise
Retired Faculty, HRSM
wisel@bellsouth.net

Past President
Gwen Geidel
Research Professor and
Undergraduate Director, School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment
College of Arts and Sciences
geidel@environ.sc.edu

Executive Council Members

Lorraine Aun
Director, International Support for Faculty and Staff
aun@mailbox.sc.edu
lorraineaun.sc@gmail.com

Mark Cooper
Professor, English Language and Literature, Film and Media Studies Program, College of Arts and Sciences
coopermg@mailbox.sc.edu

Cynthia Davis
Professor of English and Associate Dean for Arts, Humanities, and Communications
College of Arts and Sciences
cjdavis@sc.edu

Christy Friend
Professor, English Language and Literature, College of Arts and Sciences
Director, Center for Teaching Excellence
chfriend@mailbox.sc.edu

Mary Horton
Associate Dean for Administrative Services, University Libraries
hortonmc@mailbox.sc.edu

Douglas Meade
Associate Dean for Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment, Colleges of Arts and Science
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
meade@mailbox.sc.edu

Caroline Nagel
Professor and Department Chair, Geography
College of Arts and Sciences
cnagel@mailbox.sc.edu

Clifford Scott
Director, Equal Opportunity Programs
scott7@mailbox.sc.edu

Chappell Wilson
Assistant Dean for Administration, South Carolina Honors College
cswilson@mailbox.sc.edu

Sandra Kelly (ex-officio)
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies
sjkelly@sc.edu


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©