Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Phi Beta Kappa

Executive Council

At the start of each spring semester, the Executive Council assesses student qualifications as provided in grade reports from USC's Office of the Registrar.

Executive Council Officers 2019-2020

President
D. Eric Holt
Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
College of Arts and Sciences
deholt01@mailbox.sc.edu

Vice-President (President-Elect)
Heather Heckman
Associate Dean for Technology
University Libraries
heckmanh@mailbox.sc.edu

Secretary
Ward Briggs
Distinguished Carolina Professor Emeritus, Languages, Literatures and Cultures
College of Arts and Sciences
briggsw@mailbox.sc.edu

Treasurer
Duncan A. Buell
Professor, Computer Science and Engineering
College of Engineering and Computing
buell@cec.sc.edu

Historian
Sarah Wise
Retired Faculty
College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management

Past President
Gwen Geidel
Research Professor and Undergraduate Director, School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment
College of Arts and Sciences
geidel@environ.sc.edu

Executive Council Members

Lorraine Aun
Faculty Fulbright Coordinator, Office for International Scholars
aun@mailbox.sc.edu; lorraineaun.sc@gmail.com

Mark Cooper
Professor, English Language and Literature, Film and Media Studies Program
College of Arts and Sciences
Chair, Faculty Senate
coopermg@mailbox.sc.edu

Cynthia Davis
Professor of English and Associate Dean for Arts, Humanities, and Communications
College of Arts and Sciences
cjdavis@sc.edu

Christy Friend
Professor, English Language and Literature
College of Arts and Sciences
chfriend@mailbox.sc.edu

Mary Horton
Assistant Dean
University Libraries
hortonmc@mailbox.sc.edu

Douglas Meade
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
College of Arts and Sciences
meade@mailbox.sc.edu

Caroline Nagel
Professor and Department Chair, Geography
College of Arts and Sciences
cnagel@mailbox.sc.edu

Clifford Scott
Director, Equal Opportunity Programs
scott7@mailbox.sc.edu

Chappell Wilson
Assistant Dean for Administration
South Carolina Honors College

cswilson@mailbox.sc.edu

Sandra Kelly (ex-officio)
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies
sjkelly@sc.edu


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©