Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Endowed Chairs and Named Professorships

Endowed Chairs and Named Professorships

Endowed Chairs and Distinguished Professorships are prestigious term appointments for scholarly achievement and distinction within a specific departmental unit. Contact your dean's office about open chairs.

Criteria for Appointment

  1. Quality and number of scholarly and/or creative works.
  2. Enhancement of the university's reputation through regional, national and international recognition of the professional work.
  3. Quality of university teaching.
  4. Service to the university and to the profession which distinguishes the individual and university. Appropriate professional and personal conduct.
  5. Normally, recipients must be full professors at the University of South Carolina or eligible for initial appointment at that rank. In the former case, it is particularly important that the same high standards be adhered to for selection as in the latter. Appointment or reappointment to an endowed chair or named professorship should not be made merely as a reward for long service, however devoted.


Endowed Chairs and Distinguished Professorships

Name College Department Title Keywords
(hidden column)
Albrecht, Helmut Medicine Internal Medicine Heyward Gibbes Distinguished Professor in Internal Medicine  
Andrews, Jeanette Nursing Nursing Helen Wolford Gurley Professor of Nursing  
Angel, Michael Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Fred M. Weissman Palmetto Professor of Chemical Ecology  
Avignone,  Frank T. Arts & Sciences Physics & Astronomy Carolina Endowed Professor of Physics and Astronomy  
Beecroft, Alexander Arts and Sciences Languages, Literature and Cultures Jessie Chapman Alcorn Memorial Professor of Foreign Languages  
Benicewicz, Brian Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry USC Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor of Chemistry  
Benitez-Nelson, Claudia Arts and Sciences School of Earth, Ocean and Environment  1932 Marine Studies Professorship  
Bennett, Charles Pharmacy Pharmacy Frank P. and Josie M. Fletcher Professorship in Pharmacoeconomics  
Berger, Allen Moore School of Business Finance H. Montague Osteen, Jr. Professorship in Banking and Finance  
Black, Derek Law Law Class of 1959 Chair for Legal Research  
Blackburn, McKinley Moore School of Business Economics James A. Morris Endowed Professor in Economics  
Booze, Rosemarie M. Arts & Sciences Psychology Bicentennial Chair Professor in Behavioral Neuroscience  
Brett, Allan S. Medicine Internal Medicine Orlando B. Mayer, Sr. And Orlando B. Mayer, Jr. Professor of Internal Medicine  
Brinkmeyer, Robert Arts & Sciences English Emily Brown Jefferies Professor of English & Claude Henry Neuffer Professor of Southern Studies  
Dougal, Roger A. Engineering & Computing Electrical Engineering Thomas L. Gregory Professor in Electrical Engineering  
Eagle, Josh Law Law Solomon Blatt Professor of Law  
Feldman, Paula R. Arts & Sciences English C. Wallace Martin Professor of English  
Finney, Nikky Arts & Sciences English John H. Bennett Jr. Chair in Southern Letters and Creative Writing  
Frierson, Richard School of Medicine Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Science Alexander G. Donald Endowed Professorship in Neuropsychiatric Education  
Fitzpatrick, Mary Anne Arts & Sciences Arts & Sciences Educational Foundation University Professor  
Giurgiutiu, Victor Engineering & Computing Mechanical Engineering John Ducate, Sr. Chair Professorship of Mechanical Engineering  
Grant, August Mass Comm & Info Studies Journalism J. Rion McKissick Chair in Journalism  
Haj-Hariri, Hossein Engineering and Computing Engineering and Computing USC Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor  
Hebert, James R. Arnold School of Public Health Epidemiology & Biostatistics Health Sciences Distinguished Professor  
Heiney, Sue Nursing Nursing Dunn-Shealy Professor of Nursing  
Holton, Abner "Woody” Arts & Sciences History Peter and Bonnie McCausland Professor of History  
Jayachandran, Satish Moore School of Business Marketing James F. Kane Professor of Business  
Kim, Sei-Hill Information & Communications Journalism Eleanor M. and R. Frank Mundy Professorship in Journalism and Mass Communications  
Kostova, Tatiana Moore School of Business International Business Buck Mickel Professorship in International Business  
Kuo, Susan Law Law Class of 1969 Chair for Teaching Excellence  
MacKenzie, Simon P. Arts & Sciences History Caroline McKissick Dial Chair in History  
Medlin, S. Alan Law Real Estate, Trusts & Estates David W. Robinson Professor of Law  
Mihalik, Brian HRSM Sport and Entertainment Management William McFall Pearce Endowed Professorship  
Oh, Haemoon HRSM HRSM USC Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor  
Outten, Caryn Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Guy F. Lipscomb Professor of Chemistry  
Outten, Wayne Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Guy F. Lipscomb, Sr. Professor of Biochemistry  
Pitner, Ronald Social Work Social Work I. DeQuincey Newman Endowed Chair in Peace and Social Justice  
Ployhart, Robert E Moore School of Business Management Science Bank of America Professor of Business Administration  
Reichert, Tom Information and Communication Information and Communication USC Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor  
Reynolds, Anthony P. Engineering & Computing Mechanical Engineering Frank B. Herty Bicentennial Chair in Engineering  
Richardson, Susan Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Arthur Sease Williams Professor of Chemistry  
Ritter, James A. Arts & Sciences Chemical Engineering L. M. Weisiger Professor of Engineering  
Roth, Kendall J. Moore School of Business International Business J. Willis Cantey Professor of International Business and Economics  
Seiner, Joseph Law Law Oliver Ellsworth Professor of Federal Practice  
Snow, Ned Law Law Ray Taylor Fair Professorship  
Taylor, R. Caughman Medicine Pediatrics William Weston, MD Professor of Pediatrics  
Teegen, Hildy Moore School of Business International Business USC Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor  
Vogt, Thomas Engineering and Computing Chemistry USC Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor  
Weiss, Scott Music Music Sarah Bolick Smith Distinguished Professor of Music  
Wright, Patrick Moore School of Business Management Science Thomas C. Vandiver Bicentennial Chair in the Moore School of Business  
Yell, Mitchell L. Education Educational Studies Fred & Francis Lester Palmetto Chair in Teacher Education  
Zur Loye, Hanno Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry David W. Robinson Palmetto Professor  

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.