Skip to Content

Arnold School of Public Health

  • 2019 Hooding Ceremony

Arnold School honors graduates at 2019 Hooding Ceremony on May 9

May 21, 2019 | Erin Bluvas,

[View a gallery of photos taken by Tom Johnson and Errol Tisdale.]

The 2019 Arnold School of Public Health Hooding Ceremony began with a welcome to master’s and doctoral degree graduates and their families and friends by Dean Thomas Chandler and an introduction of the event’s keynote speaker, First Lady Patricia Moore-Pastides.  

James Hardin, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Curriculum, presented the annual Arnold School student and alumni awards. Next, Chandler announced the Arnold School faculty award winners. Delta Omega Honorary Society Mu Chapter inductees were recognized as well.

Lee Pearson (health promotion, education, and behavior) received the James A. Keith Excellence in Teaching Award. Named for a former professor and associate dean of the Arnold School, it is designed to recognize superior teaching. Edward Frongillo (health promotion, education, and behavior) received the Faculty Research Award for his outstanding scholarly record. Crystal Murphree-Holden (communication sciences and disorders) received the Faculty Service Award, which is designed to recognize a faculty member who has provided exceptional outreach to the community, made significant contributions to public health practice, or provided leadership in professional organizations or university governance.

The Norman J. Arnold Alumni Medal was awarded to William M. Callaghan (MPH, epidemiology and biostatistics) for demonstrating work that has had both a positive impact on the profession of public health and on the health of an identified community/population and has brought recognition to the Arnold School of Public Health. Ikechukwu (Ike) Ogbuanu  (Ph.D., epidemiology and biostatistics) received the Gerry Sue Arnold, which recognizes more recent alumni (graduated in the past 10 years) for their contributions to the profession of public health and on the health of an identified community/population.

The Jeffrey Keith Mattison Outstanding Student Achievement Award went to Sydney Bassard (MSP, communication sciences and disorders). This award is given to a master’s degree student who exemplifies service, leadership and personal example. Oluwole Babatunde (Ph.D., epidemiology and biostatistics) received the Doctoral Achievement Award for demonstrated academic achievement, professional promise in creating meaningful and relevant research and/or practical application in the field of public health, and potential leadership and service to the community or to the field of public health.

The Arnold School’s six departments also presented awards during the 2019 Hooding Ceremony.

Communication Sciences and Disorders: Lauren Sudduth (MSP), Jennifer P. Gardner (MCD)

Environmental Health Sciences: Mithun Sikder (Ph.D.), Bradley Chandler (Master’s)

Epidemiology: Omonefe (Nefe) Omofuma (Ph.D.), Carlos Avalos, (Master’s)

Biostatistics: Akhtar Hossain (Ph.D.), Shujie Chen (Master’s)

Exercise Science: Amy Hand (Ph.D.), Wil Dressor (MPH), Nandy Uriegas (MAT)

Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior: Alycia Boutté (Ph.D.), Petra Sprik (Master’s)

Health Services Policy and Management:

Benjamin Walker (MPH) – Michael D. Jarrett Award

Morgan Potts, Britton HerbertFoster G. McGaw Award

Brooke BarrierSusie B. Yates Award

Sara Goldsby - Michael E. and Sandra P. Samuels Distinguished Alumni Award

Faculty member inductees into the Arnold School’s Mu Chapter of Delta Omega Honorary Society included Anthony Alberg, Elizabeth Crouch, Xiaoming Li, and Toni Torres-McGehee. Graduating student inductees were Carlos Avalos, John Bernhart, Barbara Bujak, Bradley Chandler, Shujie Chen, Jane Die, Kyle Hatcher, Britton Herbert, Lorelei Johnson, Kathryn LaFroscia, Stephanie Lee, Timothy McHenry, Kimberly Nelson, Cassie Odahowski, Omonefe Omofuma, Mithun Sikder, Courtney Squires, Shyamkumar Sriram, Melanie Sutherland, and Jillian Wilks. Alumni inducted into the Society included Latham Avery, Stephanie Chiodini, Harley Davis, Deeonna Farr, Taja Hereford, Alicia McDaniel, Kristen Shealy, Ly Tran, Michael Warf, and Shameka Wells.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.