Skip to Content

Arnold School of Public Health

  • A graduate receives an award for achievement

Student Awards

Jeffrey Keith Mattison Outstanding Student Achievement Award

This award is presented each year to the master's level graduating student who best exemplifies the special characteristics of Jeffrey Keith Mattison, an epidemiology and biostatistics student who passed away early on during his program. To remember his life, initiative and motivation for work in public health, the Student Public Health Association (now the Dean’s Student Advisory Council) created the Jeffrey Keith Mattison Outstanding Student Achievement Award. Arnold School faculty, staff, or students may nominate students who meet the following criteria:

  • Active in service activities as well as being goal-directed, highly motivated, and able to accept challenges readily
  • Demonstrates the ability to take initiative and work independently
  • Demonstrates an interest in and an understanding of an area of public health
  • Demonstrates outstanding services and/or leadership in the interest of public health

2022: Isabella Alonso (HPEB)
2021: Kara Keiper (HSPM)
2020 Kacey Ohlemeyer (ATEP)
2019 Sydney D. Bassard (COMD)
2018 Sophia Marie Sharp (HSPM)
2017 Elena O. Keretses (ATEP)
2016 Katie Babcock (HSPM)
2015 Sara Goldsby (HSPM)
2014 Joseph Current (EPID)
2013 Robert Boyd Stith IV (HSPM)
2012 Monford Darr Russell (HSPM)
2011 Jerin Mathew Raj (HSPM)
2010 Kolby Taylor (HSPM)
2009 Emily Elizabeth Matthews (HPEB)
2008 Sarah A. Huggins (HPEB)
2007 Jelani Calhoun Kerr (HPEB)
2006 Joel A. Nelson (HPEB)
2005 Holly Gilmore (HPEB)
2004 Marya Shegog (HPEB)
2003 Delesha Miller (HPEB)
2002 Samuel Walker (ENHS)
2001 Nikki Kerr (HPEB)
2000 Dahia Barr (EPID)
1999 Andrew Pope (HPEB)
1998 Crystal McNeil (HPEB)
1997 Virginie Daguise (EPID)
1996 Romel Lacson (HPEB)
1995 Julie Mobley (EPID)
1994 Krysta Heybrook (HPEB)
1993 Laura Valleni (EPID)
1992 Steve Bailey (EXSC)
1991 Renee Boothroyd (HPEB)
1990 Leroy Frazier (HPEB)
1989 Patricia Price (EPID)


Doctoral Student Achievement Award

This award is presented to an outstanding doctoral candidate graduating from the Arnold School. Students are nominated by Arnold School faculty, and selection is based on academic performance and achievements as well as their potential for professional contribution. Selection criteria include:

  • Academic achievement as indicated by the nominee’s grades and grade point average
  • Demonstrated track record of meaningful and relevant research, and/or practical application to the field of public health
  • Demonstrated potential leadership and service to the community or to the field of public health

2022: Kyndall C. Braumuller (EPID)
2021: Chengbo Zeng (HPEB)
2020 Elizabeth Regan (EXSC)
2019 Oluwole Babatunde (EPID)
2018 Alicia Anne Dahl (HPEB)
2017 S. Morgan Hughey (HPEB)
2016 Danielle E. Schoffman (HPEB)
2015 Arpit Saxena (EXSC)
2014 Fred Tabung (EPID)
2013 Erin Kaye Howie (EXSC)
2012 Jorge Armando Banda (EXSC)
2011 Christopher E. Kline (EXSC)
2010 Andrey Bortsov (EPID)
2009 Ikechukwu "Ike" Udo Ogbuanu (EPID)
2008 Roberto Leon Felipe Lobelo (EXSC)
2007 Kerry Leigh McIver (EXSC)
2006 Heath Kelsey (ENHS)
2005 Michelle Umstattd (HPEB)
2004 Swann Adams (EPID)
2003 Karen Gaines (ENHS)
2002 Keith Zullig (HPEB)
2001 Brian Kirtland (ENHS)
2000 Alecia Malin (HPEB)
1999 Melinda Irwin (EXSC)
1998 Stewart Trost (EXSC)
1998 Christian Schlekat (ENHS)
1997 Todd Houston (COMD)
1996 Matthew Wahl (ENHS)
1995 Douglas Singh (HSPM)
1994 Debra Boardley (HPEB)
1993 Jennifer Waller (EPID)

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.