Top scholars to join incoming UofSC freshman class

The University of South Carolina will welcome some of the nation’s and the state’s top students for the university’s most valuable and prestigious scholarships program. Recipients of the Stamps, Carolina and Hamilton scholar awards for in-state students and the Stamps, McNair and Horseshoe Scholar awards for out-of-state students will join the Carolina community in August.

"We are delighted to welcome a new class of Top Scholars to the university, knowing they are among the best and brightest scholars in our state and across the nation,” says Scott Verzyl, Carolina’s associate vice president for enrollment management. "These students were selected among thousands of their peers for the University of South Carolina's most prestigious scholarships, and will step onto campus this fall as leaders inside the classroom and beyond. Our Top Scholars have tremendous opportunities to make this world a better place as students and later, as alumni."

More than 3,500 students applied for Carolina’s top scholar awards, making it the largest and most competitive applicant pool in the university’s history. The university invited 96 scholar candidates to campus to compete for these awards.

With generous support from the Atlanta-based Stamps Family Charitable Foundation, this year the university was able to complement its five in-state Stamps scholarships with five scholarships to out-of-state students.

This year’s five Stamps Scholars, 20 McNair Scholars and eight Horseshoe Scholars include students from 16 states. In-state, the five Stamps Scholars, 20 Carolina Scholars and five Hamilton Scholars come from 12 counties in South Carolina.

The Carolina Scholars Award is valued at $15,000 per year for four years. Beyond its monetary value, the scholarship provides students additional resources and support, including pairing them with a faculty mentor. The Hamilton Scholars award for in-state students is valued at $10,000 per year for four years.

The in-state Stamps Scholars are: Luke Marazzo of Columbia; Travis Dias of Florence; Alvina Farheen Emran of Myrtle Beach; Eliana Lord of Seneca, and Shubham Mehta of Spartanburg.

The Carolina Scholars are: Vanessa Madrid of Beaufort; Jeremy L. Ward of Chester; Cary Johnstone of Clemson; Ian Bain, Madison Baker, Andrew Bennett, Albert Randolph Hough Jr., Lina Saleh and Andrew Walker Jr. of Columbia; Anna Wang of Duncan; Ivan Harjehausen of Easley; Hunter Damron of Edgemoor; Nathan Pavlovksy of Irmo; Jade Ikahihifo-Bender of Myrtle Beach; William Patterson of Spartanburg; Samyuktha Comandur and Varsha Gopal of Simpsonville; Martin Trinh of Wellford; and Faisal Lachab and Alyssa Campanelli of West Columbia.

The Hamilton Scholars are: Griffin Allen of Chapin; Jackson Goddard of Cheraw; Sophia Gouhin of Myrtle Beach; Brandon Michael Jia Kelly of Newberry; and LeAnne Davison of Piedmont.

The McNair Scholars Award is one of the most valuable and prestigious scholarship for out-of-state students. The award is valued at $15,000 per year for four years. The Horseshoe Scholars award for out-of-state students is valued at $11,000 per year for four years. These awards also come with a tuition reduction, which translates into a scholarship package worth more than $135,000 for McNair Scholars and $119,000 for Horseshoe Scholars.

The Stamps Scholars has a monetary benefit of up to $20,000 per year for four years, plus $10,000 to be used for enrichment opportunities including undergraduate research, study abroad, service projects or trips or unpaid internships during their undergraduate tenure.

Stamps Scholars are: Robert Magee of Saint Johns, Florida; Nancy Jones of Decatur, Georgia; Avery Kral of Roswell, Georgia; Molly Meinhart of Louisville, Kentucky; and Mason Luff of Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania.

McNair Scholars are: Amelia Parkes of Spanish Fort, Alabama; Kylee Yturralde of Camarillo, California; Connor Fraundorf of Atlanta, Georgia; Sarah Coleman of Dalton, Georgia; Maximilian Schraeder of Arlington Heights, Illinois; Kelley Powell of Naperville, Illinois; Jill Boggs of Jacksonville, Fla; Maggie Collins of Naples, Florida; Aimée Petitbon of Metairie, Louisiana; Anna Anderson of Baltimore, Maryland; Steven Simon of Omaha, Nebraska; Zoe Screwvala of Brooklyn, New York; Bryson Getz of Charlotte, North Carolina; Thomas “Gabe” Turner of Ellenboro, North Carolina; Tyler Quehl of Loveland, Ohio; Alexandra Stevens of Cincinnati, Ohio; Evan Delp of Telford, Pennsylvania; Jared Cronin of Portsmith, Virginia; Madison Bradley of Richmond, Virginia; and Lilian Flick of Roanoke, Virginia.

The Horseshoe Scholars are: Patrick Dennis Hough of Louisville, Kentucky; Taylor Bauman of Lakeville, Minnesota; Lemmens Nathanael of Hendersonville, North Carolina; Emily Zeidman of Windsor, Pennsylvania; Brianna Surratt of Nashville, Tennessee; Jonathan Robson of Gainesville, Virginia; Evan Smith of Henrico, Virginia; and Sarah Snare of Hamilton, Virginia.

The McNair Scholars program began in 1998 and is supported by a $30 million gift from university alumnus Robert McNair and his wife, Janice McNair. The Carolina Scholars program was developed by the university in 1969. This is the fifth year for the Stamps Scholars program, funded through a gift from the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation, founded by Penny and E. Roe Stamps IV.

Share this Story! Let friends in your social network know what you are reading about