Skip to Content

Environmental Health and Safety

Research & Laboratory Safety

We work to provide a safe research environment for all laboratory personnel, and to facilitate compliance with research safety regulations, standards and guidelines.

COVID-19 Research Safety Updates and Guidance

All COVID-19 research projects using biohazardous materials must be approved by the Institutional Biosafety Committee prior to performing any experiments. Please notify the Biosafety Office (Sherika Smith or Mark Robbins) if you are planning to conduct any COVID-19 research using biological materials.

Biosafety Resources for COVID-19 Research:

UofSC Guidance

General Guidance

Disinfection/Decontamination Guidance

Shipping/Transportation

Note: To ship any COVID-19 research samples, you must have current shipping training. For questions regarding shipping training, email Sherika Smith.

 

 

Contact Research & Laboratory Safety

Contact Position/Role Email Office Phone  
Bryan Bagg Radiation Safety Officer bagg@mailbox.sc.edu  803-777-7530
Vacant Assistant Chemical Hygiene Officer    
Allen Boyd Health Physicist - Electronic Products boydca@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-2841
Jeff Brannon Chemical Waste Manager brannonm@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-1935
David Estey Infectious Waste Management estey@mailbox.sc.edu 803-422-2122
Jocelyn Locke Chemical Hygiene Officer jlocke@mailbox.sc.edu   803-777-7650
Mark Robbins Research Safety Bureau Chief mrobbins@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-4042
Jennifer Roose Assistant RSO - Radioactive Materials roosej@mailbox.sc.edu  803-576-6818
Sherika Smith Biological Safety Officer smiths69@mailbox.sc.edu  803-777-1625

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©