Skip to Content

Environmental Health and Safety

Radiation Safety Committee

Radiation Safety Committee Charter
To act pursuant to the State of South Carolina (SC) regulatory requirements for the University to possess a Type A broad scope specific radioactive materials license. Per SC RHA, the committee must include the Radiation Safety Officer (RSO), a representative of management, and persons trained and experienced in the safe use of radioactive materials. University license conditions require the committee to meet quarterly with a quorum consisting of the Committee Chair, the RSO and at least 3 other members. The committee must control procurement and use of radioactive material and complete safety evaluations for all uses of radioactive material that include a review of facilities, equipment, user training and experience to ensure that radiation doses to students, faculty, staff, visitors and the general public remain as low as reasonably achievable and within regulatory requirements. To promote safety per published guidelines and/or regulations, the committee also oversees the usage of scientific equipment containing X-ray tubes, Class 3B and 4 lasers, unenclosed hazardous forms of visible, ultraviolet and/or infrared light, and devices that generate magnetic fields in occupied spaces above 5 Gauss.

Member Title and Affiliation
Hans-Conrad zur Loye, Chair Associate Dean, Professor: College of Arts and Sciences
Bryan Bagg  Radiation Safety Officer: Environmental Health and Safety
Andrew Greytak  Associate Professor; Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Mark Berg  Professor: Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Travis Knight  Director and Professor: Nuclear Engineering Program
Angela Murphy*  Associate Professor: Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology 
Daping Fan*  Associate Professor: Cell Biology and Anatomy
Deanna Smith  Associate Professor: Biological Sciences
Katie Kathrein Assistant Professor: Biological Sciences
Lingyu (Lucy) Yu  Associate Professor: College of Engineering
Thomas Syfert  Assistant Vice President: Environmental Health and Safety
Jennifer Roose Ex Officio Env. Health Manager III (Radioactive materials) and Secretary
Allen Boyd Ex Officio Env. Health Manager III (X-rays and Lasers)

* Denotes School of Medicine Faculty

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.