Skip to Content

Department of Philosophy


Chris Tollefsen edits collection by Joseph Boyle

Chris Tollefsen has co-edited a volume of essays by the late philosopher Joseph Boyle. It is titled Natural Law Ethics in Theory and Practice: A Joseph Boyle Reader.

Welcome to new faculty member Agnes Bolinska!

We are thrilled to be joined this year by new faculty member Agnes Bolinska.

New Roger Bacon Research Society

Jerry Hackett is the founding president of the new Roger Bacon Research Society.

Gene Long, 1935-2020

Emeritus faculty member Jerry Wallulis offers some thoughts about our former colleague, Gene Long.

Congratulations to Michael Stoeltzner

'Epistemology of the Large Hadron Collider' project is renewed.

APA Award for Tyke Nunez

Faculty member Tyke Nunez was just announced a winner of the Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize.

Congratulations to Chia-Hua Lin!

Our recent PhD, Chia-Hua Lin, has won an NSF Post-doctoral Research Fellowship and a KLI Visiting Fellowship.

Robert J. Mulvaney (1937 - 2019)

Bob Mulvaney, 30 years a philosopher at the University of South Carolina, passed away recently.

Congratulations to Tiffany Beaver

Tiffany Beaver awarded 2019-2020 Bridge Humanities Corps Fellowship

Jennifer Frey's podcast featured by APA

Jennifer Frey has written a nice piece on the APA's website concerning her popular podcast, "Sacred and Profane Love"

Jeremy Weissman receives post-doc

Congratulations to Jeremy Weissman! He has received a post-doc at the Roger Mudd Ethics Center, Washington & Lee University.

Welome to Kathryn Lindeman and Tyke Nunez

The department is pleased to welcome our newest faculty members, Kathryn Lindeman and Tyke Nunez.

Chia-Hua Lin wins poster award

Graduate student Chia-Hua win has won the Best Poster Presentation at the meeting of the Society of the Philosophy of Science in Practice. Congratulations!

Book Publication -- Calculated Surprises

Congratulations to our visitor (jointly with the Ann Johnson Center) Johannes Lenhard, whose book Calculated Surprises will be published March 18.

Department to Host SCSP Conference.

The Department of Philosophy looks forward to hosting the South Carolina Society for Philosophy conference, to be held on the campus of the University of South Carolina (in the Law School), March 8-9. Welcome to our guests! [update: schedule added]

Welcome to Brett Sherman

The Department welcomes Brett Sherman our newest tenure-track faculty member.

Congratulations to our newest PhDs

Congratulations to the graduate students who completed their dissertation and graduated this December.

Philosophy PhD Student Dan Castell Wins Civic Scholars Grant

The Graduate Civic Scholars Program is a professional development initiative for graduate students seeking public engagement and action-based research.

Practical Truth: Reflections on the Aristotelian Tradition

Philosophy conference to take place April 21st-22nd, 2017.

Former Philosophy Faculty Member Ann Johnson Has Died

A memorial service will be held on April 29th, 2017.

Anne Bezuidenhout Elected to Position in AMPRA

The American Pragmatics Association recently elected new officers.

Tarja Knuuttila Co-Organizes Interdisciplinary Winter School on Modeling in Synthetic Biology

"Varieties of Modeling in Technoscience: The Case of Synthetic Biology"

Applications open for 4 Full-Time PhD Positions

Applications are invited for 4 PhD positions in philosophy at the University of South Carolina. The position pays a stipend and tuition and fees.

Congratulations to Michelle Panchuk

New PhD and a new post-doc position

Congratulations to Michael Stoeltzner

New research grant on the Epistemology of the Large Hadron Collider.


News Archive

2020     2019     2018     2017

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.