UofSC physics researcher SC Professor of the Year

Milind Kunchur, a professor of physics in the College of Arts and Sciences, was named the 2014 S.C. Governor's Professor of the Year by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education and the governor’s office at a special Statehouse ceremony Wednesday (April 23).

Kunchur, a world renowned scientist, conducts research across many disciplines including superconductivity and the neurophysiology of human hearing. He’s the winner of multiple prestigious research and teaching awards, including the Martin-Marietta achievement award, the Ralph E. Powe Research Award from Oak Ridge National Labortaory, and the 2001 Michael J. Mungo Teaching Award and the 2012 Michael J. Mungo Distinguished Professor of the Year Award.

His win marks the 10th time in the award’s 25-year history that a Carolina faculty member has won.

Kunchur, who enjoys mentoring his students as much as conducting research, said he was “ecstatic and very grateful” to win the award.

He is an advisory board member for the Physica C journal and panel member for the National Science Foundation and the U.S. Department of Energy and has published 60 peer-reviewed articles and delivered more than 100 invited lectures across the globe.

"Professor Kunchur is an extraordinary communicator who excells in translating complex scientific concepts for the students and he helps them to develop a deeper understanding and appreciation for the physical world around us," said College of Arts and Sciences Dean Mary Anne Fitzpatrick. 

The Professor of the Year award is handed out annually to a faculty member at a South Carolina public or private senior college or university, and to a faculty member at a public or private two-year institution. Those eligible for the award must be full-time faculty who have taught for at least four years. They also must have a record of outstanding teaching, student advisement and involvement in professional organizations.

Two faculty members at Carolina system campuses were recognized as finalists for two-year institutions: Daniel Kiernan, a biology instructor at USC Sumter, and Sarah Miller, a history professor at USC Salkehatchie.

Share this Story! Let friends in your social network know what you are reading about