Skip to Content

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

    Departmental Undergraduate Awards

    Below is a list of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry undergraduate scholarships and awards that were awarded at University Awards Day, April 15, 2021

    Applications for Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry undergraduate scholarships and awards are taken once a year. The availability of scholarships and awards can vary from year to year.  Normally the call is sent out to all undergraduate students via blackboard and is posted on our website in February or March.  The call indicates what scholarships and awards students can apply for the upcoming year, the requirements, and the due date.  Recipients are announced and recognized at the annual University Awards Day in April.



    Royal Society of Chemistry Certificate of Excellence
    • Alex Melville
    Betty R. Fundenberg Undergraduate Biomedical Research Award (2 Funded at $500)
    • Isabelle Lytle
    • Rachel Edens
    South Carolina Section of the ACS Outstanding Undergraduate Award
    • Ian Bongalonta
    Hiram and Lawanda Allen Award for Excellence in Chemistry ($500)
    • Jade Ikahihifo-Bender
    ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Award
    • Luis Ramos
    ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry Undergraduate Award
    • James Boyt II
    ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award
    • Mia Lacey
    ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Undergraduate Award
    • Samantha Rush
    ACS Division of Physical Chemistry Undergraduate Award
    • Joseph Dickinson


    Joseph W. and Julia L. Bouknight Scholarship ($5,000)
    • Paige Williams
    • Mia Lacey
    Victor W. Laurie Junior Year Scholarship ($2,500)
    • Charlotte Pollack
    Victor W. Laurie Senior Year Scholarship ($2,500)
    • Dexter Reasons
    Tommy L. & Fred E. Hickman, III Scholarship ($2,500)
    • Zion Glover
    • Zahara Ellison
    Hiram and Lawanda Allen Scholarship for Excellence in Chemistry (full scholarship)
    • Mollie Morrow

    Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.