Skip to Content

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Our People

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords Department
Faculty Adams, Richard D. Carolina Distinguished Professor / Inorganic Catalysis / Crystallography / Materials / Nano / Organometallic 803-777-7187 adamsrd@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis, Crystallography, Materials, Nano, Organometallic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Angel, S. Michael Carolina Trustee Professor / Fred M. Weissman Palmetto Chair in Chemical Ecology / Analytical Environmental / Physical and Theoretical / Spectroscopy 803-777-2779 smangel0@mailbox.sc.edu Environmental,Materials,Nano,Physical and Theoretical,Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Ashford, Eric D. Supply Manager / Departmental Staff 803-777-3905 ashforde@mailbox.sc.edu Stockroom Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Atim, Silvia Organic Chemistry Lab Coordinator / Teaching Staff 803-777-2687 atim@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Benicewicz, Brian C. USC Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor / SmartState Endowed Chair in Polymer Nanocomposites / Polymer Materials / Nano / Organic 803-777-0778 benice@sc.edu Materials, Nano, Polymer, Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Berg, Mark A. Professor / Physical and Theoretical Biophysical / Chemical Physics / Materials / Nano / Polymer / Spectroscopy 803-777-1514 berg@sc.edu Physical and Theoretical, Biophysical, Chemical Physics, Materials, Nano, Polymer, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Chen, Donna A. Professor / Adjunct Professor in Chemical Engineering / Physical and Theoretical Analytical / Catalysis / Chemical Physics / Inorganic / Materials / Nano / Solid State / Spectroscopy 803-777-1050 dachen@sc.edu Analytical, Catalysis, Chemical Physics, Inorganic, Materials, Nano, Physical and Theoretical, Solid State, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Chruszcz, Maksymilian Associate Professor / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Biophysical / Catalysis / Crystallography 803-777-7399 chruszcz@mailbox.sc.edu Biophysical, Catalysis, Crystallography, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Cotham, William E. Associate Director Mass Spectrometry Services / Departmental Staff 803-777-2039 cotham@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Ferry, John L. Professor / Environmental Analytical / Bioanalytical / Catalysis / Nano / Physical and Theoretical / Spectroscopy 803-777-2646 ferry@mailbox.sc.edu Analytical, Bioanalytical, Catalysis, Environmental, Nano, Physical and Theoretical, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Freeman, Daniel L. Senior Instructor / Director of Freshman Chemistry Labs / Teaching Staff 803-777-8899 dfreema@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Garashchuk, Sophya Professor / Physical and Theoretical Chemical Physics / Nano/ Materials / Solid state 803-777-8900 garashch@mailbox.sc.edu Chemical Physics, Nano, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Garvin, Demetra B. TFAC / Teaching Staff 803-777-2687 garvindj@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Gatrone, Erin E. Instructor / Teaching Staff 803-777-3904 gatrone@email.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Goodwin, Nanette L. Administrative Assistant / Scheduling Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-0024 lylesl@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Graham, Sarah A. Human Resource Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-7816 sagraham@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Greytak, Andrew B. Associate Professor / Physical and Theoretical Inorganic / Materials / Nano / Solid State / Spectroscopy / Supramolecular 803-777-0672 greytak@mailbox.sc.edu Crystallography,Inorganic,Materials,Nano,Physical and Theoretical,Solid State,Spectroscopy,Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Hashemi, Parastoo Associate Professor / Analytical Bioanalytical / Biochemistry / Nano / Environmental 803-777-6104 hashemi@mailbox.sc.edu Analytical, Biochemistry, Bioanalytical, Nano, Environmental Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff He, Lijian Mass Spectrometry Center Manager / Departmental Staff 803-777-7765 hel@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Johnson, Toni Assistant to the NMR Facility Director / Departmental Staff 803-576-5685 john3822@mailbox.sc.edu Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Facility Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Karthikeyan, Mythreye Assistant Professor / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 803-576-5806 mythreye@sc.edu Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Lavigne, John J. Associate Professor / Building Facilities Coordinator / Organic Supramolecular / Bioorganic / Materials / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology / Polymer / Analytical 803-777-2295 lavignjj@mailbox.sc.edu Analytical, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Bioorganic, Materials, Nano, Organometallic, Polymer, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Li, Jie Assistant Professor / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Bioorganic / Biosynthesis / Bioanalytical / Natural products chemistry and drug discovery 803-777-5010 LI439@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Lovelace, Leslie L. Director of Undergraduate Studies / Departmental Staff / Teaching Staff 803-777-0458 lovelacl@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Makris, Thomas M. Associate Professor / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Bioinorganic / Bioorganic / Biophysical / Catalysis / Crystallography / Inorganic / Spectroscopy 803-777-6626 makrist@mailbox.sc.edu Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Bioinorganic, Bioorganic, Biophysical, Catalysis, Crystallography, Inorganic, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Merkel, Jennifer C. Graduate Student Services Program Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-2579 merkelj@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Moore, Terrell L Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator 803-777-2597 TLM2@email.sc.edu
Faculty Morgan, Stephen L. Professor / Analytical Bioanalytical / Environmental / Forensics / Polymer / Spectroscopy/ Theoretical/Computational 803-777-2461 morgansl@mailbox.sc.edu Bioanalytical, Environmental, Forensics, Polymer, Spectroscopy, Theoretical/Computational Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Myrick, Michael L. Professor / Physical and Theoretical Analytical / Environmental / Forensics / Materials / Spectroscopy 803-777-6018 myrick@mailbox.sc.edu Analytical, Environmental, Forensics, Materials, Spectroscopy, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Nareddy, Radhika R. Instructor / Teaching Staff 803-576-8349 nareddy@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Outten, Caryn E. Professor and Guy F. Lipscomb Professor of Chemistry / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Bioinorganic / Biophysical 803-777-8783 outten@sc.edu Bioinorganic, Biophysical, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Outten, F. Wayne Professor and Guy F. Lipscomb, Sr. Professor of Biochemistry / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Bioinorganic 803-777-8151 outtenf@mailbox.sc.edu Bioinorganic, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Pellechia, Perry J. Director of NMR Services / Departmental Staff Research Associate Professor 803-777-2088 pjpellec@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Perez, Jesus A. Teaching Assistant / Undergraduate Organic Lab 803-777-2117 perezja@email.sc.edu Chem 102L, Chem 331, Chem 331L, Chem 332, Chem 332L, teaching assistant Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Peryshkov, Dmitry V. Assistant Professor / Inorganic Catalysis / Materials / Organometallic 803-777-6414 peryshkov@sc.edu Catalysis, Materials, Organometallic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Price, Christian A. Science IT Support Manager / Departmental Staff 803-777-3160 priceca@mailbox.sc.edu Information Technology, IS, IT, Technology, Electronics, Instruments Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Rassolov, Vitaly Professor / Physical and Theoretical Chemical Physics / Nano 803-777-7811 rassolov@mailbox.sc.edu Chemical Physics, Nano, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Reger, Daniel L. Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus Inorganic / Organometallic / Supramolecular 803-777-2587 reger@mailbox.sc.edu Inorganic, Organometallic, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Remigino, Peter J. Teaching Assistant / Handy Group / Teaching Staff 803-777-2117 remigino@email.sc.edu TIA for Chem 331 Lab Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Richardson, Susan D. Arthur Sease Williams Professor of Chemistry / Environmental Analytical / Inorganic / Organic / Physical and Theoretical / Spectroscopy 803-777-6932 richardson.susan@sc.edu Environmental, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Theoretical, Spectroscopy, Analytical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Rivers, Destine Student Services Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-1863 RIVERS24@mailbox.sc.edu Student Services Coordinator, student hiring Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Shaw, Timothy J. Professor / Analytical Environmental / Inorganic / Spectroscopy 803-777-0352 shaw@mailbox.sc.edu Environmental, Inorganic, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Shimizu, Ken D. Professor/ Department Chair / Organic Physical Organic / Polymer / Supramolecular / Responsive Materials 803-777-6523 shimizu@mailbox.sc.edu Materials, Nano, Physical and Theoretical, Polymer, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Shimizu, Linda S. Professor / Organic Biochemistry and Molecular Biology / Bioorganic / Catalysis / Crystallography / Materials / Nano / Solid State / Spectroscopy / Supramolecular 803-777-2066 shimizls@mailbox.sc.edu Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Bioorganic, Catalysis, Crystallography, Materials, Nano, Solid State, Spectroscopy, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Shustova, Natalia B. Associate Professor / Inorganic Catalysis / Crystallography / Materials / Organic / Physical and Theoretical / Solid State / Supramolecular 803-777-1903 shustova@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis, Crystallography, Materials, Organic, Physical and Theoretical, Solid State, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Smith, Mark D. Crystallographer / Departmental Staff 803-576-6032 mdsmith3@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Stefik, Morgan Assistant Professor / Polymer Materials / Nano / Crystallography / Organic / Inorganic / Catalysis / Solid State 803-777-6308 stefik@mailbox.sc.edu Catlysis, Crystallography, Inorganic, Materials, Nano, Polymer, Solid State, Supramolecular, Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Tang, Chuanbing Professor and College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor / Organic Materials / Nano/ Organometallic / Polymer / Supramolecular 803-777-3628 tang4@mailbox.sc.edu Materials, Nano, Organometallic, Polymer, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Taylor-Perry, Amelia S. Senior Instructor / General Chemistry Lab Coordinator / Teaching Staff 803-777-1540 taylora4@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Thomas, Dexter K. Stock Room Manager / Departmental Staff 803-777-2396 thoma748@mailbox.sc.edu stock room, chemistry and biochemistry Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Vannucci, Aaron K. Assistant Professor / Inorganic Catalysis / Materials / Organic / Organometallic 803-576-6071 vannucci@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis, Materials, Organic, Organometallic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Vogt, Thomas Director of the NanoCenter / Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry / Inorganic Catalysis / Chemical Physics / Crystallography / Environmental / Materials / Nano / Physical and Theoretical / Solid State 803-777-1151 tvogt@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis, Chemical Physics, Crystallography, Environmental, Materials, Nano, Physical and Theoretical ,Solid State Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Walla, Mike Director of Mass Spectrometry Services / Departmental Staff 803-777-2039 mdwalla0@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Wang, Hui Associate Professor / Physical and Theoretical Biochemistry and Molecular Biology / Biophysical / Materials / Nano / Spectroscopy 803-777-2203 wang344@mailbox.sc.edu Biophysical, Materials, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Nano, Spectroscopy, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Wang, Qian Carolina Distinguished Professor / Organic Bioorganic / Materials / Nano / Polymer / Supramolecular 803-777-8436 wang263@mailbox.sc.edu Bioorganic,Materials,Nano,Polymer,Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff White, Lourie First Year Advisor 803-576-6347 whitei@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Wiskur, Sheryl L. Associate Professor / Graduate Director / Organic Catalysis / Organometallic / Supramolecular 803-777-8143 wiskur@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis / Organometallic / Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Zhang, Min Analytical / Instrumental Laboratory Coordinator / Teaching Staff 803-777-3897 zhang339@mailbox.sc.edu Chem 321, Session ll (3S2) Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty zur Loye, Hans-Conrad Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education / David W Robinson Palmetto Professor / Inorganic / Crystallography / Materials / Nano / Solid State / Supramolecular 803-777-6916 zurloye@mailbox.sc.edu Crystallography, Materials, Nano, Solid State, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©