Skip to Content

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

All Accounts

The Hiram S. & Lawanda Allen Chemistry Research Award supports the annual graduate student research competition, a full summer fellowship for an entering graduate student, undergraduate chemical research that is relevant to the chemical industry, and a full scholarship for a chemistry major who demonstrates the best blend of excellence in coursework and skill in chemistry laboratory procedures.

The Derek Benicewicz Endowed Fellowship Fund supports graduate students who demonstrate exceptional performance and future potential in organic chemistry.

The Joseph W. and Julia L. Bouknight Scholarship supports undergraduate chemistry majors whose career objective is teaching chemistry on the high school level.

The Cancer Research Institute supports cancer research at the University of South Carolina.

The James E. Copenhaver Memorial Fund is used to provide stipends to support highly deserving undergraduate majors in chemistry who participate in our Summer Research Internship Program with one of our faculty.

The H. Willard Davis Lectureship in Physical Chemistry sponsors visits of outstanding physical chemists as Davis Lecturers to the Department.

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry Enhancement Fund supports a number of departmental activities, which are not adequately funded by state appropriations. For example, these funds are used in our seminar program which attracts outstanding national and international chemists to our department to present their research, in our graduate recruiting program to attract the best possible students to our department, and in helping us to defray expenses of our faculty when they are invited to given seminars at scientific meetings or universities in foreign countries.

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry Industrial Advisory Board supports specific endeavors within the department, to be determined by Industrial Advisory Board.

The James R. Durig Graduate Student Travel Fund promotes the participation of graduate students associated with this Department as presenters of their current scientific research work at significant national and international meetings.

The Ronald R. Fisher Lectureship in Biochemical Sciences sponsors the seminar visits of biochemical researchers who will serve as role models for our current graduate and undergraduate students, postdoctorals, and faculty who are pursuing exciting problems in biochemistry and molecular biology.

The Betty R. Fudenberg Fund provides support for chemistry or biochemistry undergraduates performing biomedical research at the University of South Carolina.

The Max G. Gergel Award provides an award to a graduating undergraduate chemistry certified ACS or biochemistry major(s) with the highest GPA.

The Tommy L. and Fred E. Hickman III Scholarship is awarded to a worthy student majoring in chemistry or biochemistry with a GPA of 3.0 or higher. Preference is given to underrepresented groups to promote diversity among the student body.

The Hoechst Graduate Recruitment Award provides support to help attract highly qualified students to our graduate program.

The IRIX/David L. Coffen Fellowship provides support to an outstanding graduate student who has demonstrated the potential to carry out high quality original research.

The Victor W. Laurie Scholarship provides a much-needed means of supporting and honoring a rising junior and a rising senior chemistry major with outstanding undergraduate records.

The Charles W. Murtiashaw III Memorial Fund provides the department with opportunities to enhance the quality of graduate education in chemistry and biochemistry.

The Jerome D. Odom Fellowship in Chemistry provides support for graduate and undergraduate students in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

The Robert L. Sumwalt Professorship in Chemistry is used to attract and retain outstanding professors in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

The Peyton C. Teague Graduate Fellowships help to attract highly qualified students to our graduate program.

The Fred M. Weissman Lectureship in Analytical Chemistry supports attracting outstanding national and international chemists to talk with our faculty, interact with our students, and present their current research in the burgeoning field of analytical chemistry.

The Arthur S. Williams Professorship is used to attract and retain outstanding professors in the field of organic chemistry by providing a salary supplement and expenses for the Arthur S. Williams Professor.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.