Skip to Content

Joseph F. Rice School of Law

Research Roundtable on Limited Licensing (2014)

The Center hosted a research roundtable on Washington’s Limited License Legal Technician (LLLT) initiative, whereby experienced paralegals may pursue additional training and licensing to practice independently in the area of family law. Participants included state and national bar officials, regulators, policymakers, and researchers interested in improving access to civil legal assistance.

Thursday, February 27

  • 12:00–2:30 P.M. — The Promise and Challenges of Limited Licensing


  • Stephen R. Crossland, Chair, Washington State Bar Association Limited License Legal Technician Board
  • Joseph Dunn, Executive Director, State Bar of California
  • Paula Littlewood, Executive Director, Washington State Bar Association


  • Elizabeth Chambliss, Professor of Law & Director, NMRS Center on Professionalism


  • Sue Berkowitz, Director, SC Appleseed Legal Justice Center
  • Lesley M. Coggiola, Disciplinary Counsel, Supreme Court of South Carolina
  • Barry Currier, ABA Managing Director of Accreditation & Legal Education
  • Richard Granat, CEO, Direct Law & Co-Director, The Center for Law Practice Technology
  • William Hubbard, President-Elect, American Bar Association
  • Erica Moeser, President, National Conference of Bar Examiners
  • Edward W. Mullins, Jr., Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough
  • Stephanie Nye, Counsel to the Chief Justice, South Carolina Supreme Court
  • Dana Remus, Associate Professor of Law, University of North Carolina School of Law
  • Rebecca Sandefur, Associate Professor of Sociology and Law & Director of Graduate Studies in Sociology, University of Illinois and Faculty Fellow, American Bar Foundation
  • Barbara Seymour, Deputy Disciplinary Counsel, Supreme Court of South Carolina
  • James Silkenat, President, American Bar Association
  • Ron Staudt, Professor of Law & Director, Center for Access to Justice & Technology, Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago-Kent College
  • Lisle Traywick, Editor in Chief, Volume 65, South Carolina Law Review
  • John E. Waites, Chief Judge, United States Bankruptcy Court
  • Bob Wells, Executive Director, South Carolina Bar
  • Robin Wheeler, Executive Director, South Carolina Access to Justice Commission
  • Robert M. Wilcox, Dean, University of South Carolina School of Law
  • Sharon Williams, Associate Director, NMRS Center on Professionalism
  • David Yellen, Dean, Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.