Skip to Content

School of Medicine Greenville

2017 Faculty & Staff Awards

GREENVILLE, S.C. (May 9, 2017)—The USC School of Medicine Greenville is pleased to announce the following faculty and staff awards for 2017. Congratulations to the following recipients:

The Outstanding Mentor Award
Camiron Pfennig, M.D., Department of Emergency Medicine

The Outstanding Clinical Role-Model Award
Meenu Jindal, M.D., Department of Medicine

The Golden Peach Award for Excellence in M1 Education
Shanna Williams, Ph.D., Department of Biomedical Sciences
Thomas Nathaniel, Ph.D., Department of Biomedical Sciences

The Golden Peach Award for Excellence in M2 Education
Allison Young, M.D., Department of Pathology

The Golden Peach Award for Excellence in M3 Education
Sandip Jain, M.D., Department of Medicine, Neurology Division

The Golden Peach Award for Excellence in M4 Education
Amanda Hartke, M.D., Department of Pediatrics

The Conscious Professionalism Award
Sheldon Herring, Ph.D., Department of Biomedical Sciences

The Innovation in Education Award
Mohammed Khalil, Ph.D., Department of Biomedical Sciences

Citation: Dr. Khalil skillfully blends numerous pedagogical approaches and methods in a coherent way to maximize student learning. Similarly, Dr. Khalil’s interactive digital histology lab manual and related group work facilitates students’ learning of histology while also tying in biochemistry, physiology and pathology.

The Outstanding Scholar Award
Manuel Casanova, M.D., Department of Biomedical Sciences/Pediatrics

Citation: Since arriving in 2015, Dr. Casanova has continued his outstanding scholarly productivity, bringing marked recognition to both the medical school and GHS. In addition to dozens of publications and presentations over the past year, Dr. Casanova is recognized internationally for his record of ongoing scholarship on autism. For example, Dr. Casanova was elected as the inaugural president of the International Consortium of Autism Institutes (ICAI) in a ceremony in Russia. Dr. Casanova recently returned from China where he was a keynote speaker at the inauguration of the Center for National Autism Rehabilitation, which will be the largest autism center in China. He was also named to the Scientific Advisory Board of the Autism Research Institute (ARI) and led several national consensus panels sponsored by the institute. Manny has worked tirelessly to establish a network of collaborators and stakeholders since being named as the Centers of Economic Excellence Endowed Chair in Pediatric Neurotherapeutics.

The Outstanding Service Award
Camiron Pfennig, M.D., Department of Emergency Medicine

Citation: Dr. Pfennig has demonstrated unwavering commitment to our medical students through the Colleges program, which she helped to develop and launch, and now directs.  Through the Colleges, Dr. Pfennig and our medical students have been involved in numerous charitable initiatives including fundraising for Doctors without Borders, the Greenville Free Medical Clinic and the Children’s Miracle Network. Direct support for those served by GHS includes making sure children in the hospital on this campus were able to trick-or-treat and receive Valentine’s Day cards, as well as leading a program for underserved GHS families during the Christmas season. In addition to full immersion in the Colleges program, Dr. Pfennig serves as a career counselor, specialty advisor, Osler College mentor, faculty liaison to the Medical Student Association and as a member of the curriculum committee. Within her own discipline of Emergency Medicine, Dr. Pfennig teaches her colleagues around the country through educational workshops, and she serves on the Council of Residency Directors in Emergency Medicine.

The University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville Volunteer Faculty Appreciation Award
Carl Bailey, M.D.
Larry Harper, M.D.
Darrell Jervey, M.D.
Pam Snape, M.D.
Rafael Igartua, M.D.
Robin Howe, M.D.
William Algary, M.D.
Eddie Ellison, M.D.
Paul Schaefer, M.D.
Woodrow Long, Jr., M.D.

The Dean’s Award
April Buchanan, M.D., Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
William Wright, Ph.D., Department of Biomedical Sciences
Michael Wiederman, Ph.D., Office of Faculty Affairs


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.