Skip to Content

Weather Update: UofSC Columbia campus will be closed Friday, Sept. 30 due to inclement weather. Classes are canceled and only essential personnel are required to report to campus. See for updates.

Office of the Provost

  • award winners

Internal Awards

Recognizing Outstanding Faculty

The Office of the Provost prides itself on the high caliber faculty employed by the University of South Carolina. Our faculty are recognized each spring with university-wide awards for teaching, research, service and advising. Nomination guidelines and the online nomination form are available on each award page below.

Award Deadlines

Please note that each award is a one-time career award and former winners are not eligible for re-nomination. This does not preclude past winner nominations for different faculty awards. For complete submission information, please see each award.

Award Eligibility Nomination Deadline Submission Deadline
Ada B. Thomas
Outstanding Advisor Award
  • Full time faculty/staff person who advises undergraduate students across UofSC Campuses.
Dec. 12, 2021 Feb. 4, 2022
Carolina Trustees Professorship
  • Faculty who hold the rank of tenured full professor across UofSC Campuses. 
  Feb. 11, 2022
Clinical Practice Teaching Award
  • Full time professional-track faculty members who have taught clinical practice courses across UofSC Campuses for at least three year. 
Dec. 12, 2021 Feb. 4, 2022
Garnet Apple Award for
Teaching Innovation
  • Full-time faculty members employed at UofSC-Columbia and/or Palmetto College campuses for a minimum of 3 years at the time of nomination (including current semester) are eligible.
Feb. 7, 2022  
Michael J. Mungo Distinguished Professor of the Year Award
  • Faculty who hold the rank of tenured full professor from UofSC Columbia Campus.  
Feb. 4, 2022  
Michael J. Mungo Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Awards
  • Full time faculty members of any track or rank who have taught at UofSC Columbia Campus for at least three years (undergraduate) and five years (graduate). 
Dec. 12, 2021 Feb. 4, 2022
Russell Research and UofSC Educational Foundation Research Awards
  • Full Time faculty across UofSC Campuses.  
Jan. 7, 2022 Feb. 4, 2022
UofSC Educational Foundation Outstanding Service Award
  • Full-time faculty members on the Columbia or regional campuses.
Dec. 12, 2021  Feb. 4, 2022

Other Faculty Awards

Palmetto College offers the John J. Duffy Teaching Award, the Chris P. Plyler Excellence in Service Award, and the Denise R. Shaw Excellence in Scholarship Award to recognize outstanding faculty at the Lancaster, Salkehatchie, Sumter and Union campuses.

University Housing and University 101 Programs presents the John N. Gardner Inspirational Faculty Award each academic year to a faculty member who encourages students living on-campus to intentionally select and participate in meaningful experiences within and beyond the classroom.

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Office of Undergraduate Research offer the Undergraduate Research Mentor Award to recognize and reward excellence in mentoring undergraduate researchers.

The Office of Student Conduct and Academic Integrity recognizes that faculty members and instructors play a significant role in developing students of integrity. To honor this contribution, we are pleased to present the University of South Carolina Integrity Award to a distinguished faculty member or instructor. Recipients of this award proactively and effectively implement a culture of academic integrity, show care and concern both for students and their development, and promote the Carolinian Creed.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.