Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Committee Governance

The Carolina Core Committee is composed of faculty from across all colleges and schools with undergraduate programs, as well as representatives from the Regional campuses and from the Division of Student Affairs and the Department of Academic Support.


Meeting Minutes

Meeting minutes from years prior to those listed below are available by request.  Please contact the Office of the Provost.


Carolina Core Committee Members and Specialty Team Chairs

Type Affiliation Name Contact Keywords
(hidden column)
Chair Administrative Co-Chair Sandra Kelly
Professor, Psychology
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies

803-777-2808
sjkelly@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Arts and Sciences Douglas Meade
Undergraduate Director, Associate Professor, Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-6183
meade@math.sc.edu
 
Member Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management David Cardenas
Associate Dean of Academic Programs and Associate Professor, Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management, College of Hospitality, Retail, and Sport Management
803-777-5120
dcardenas@hrsm.sc.edu
 
Member Arts and Sciences Brian Habing
Associate Professor, Statistics, College of Arts and Sciences Curriculum Committee Chair
803-777-3578 bhabing0@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Business, Moore School of Jan Bass
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs and Professor, Economics, Moore School of Business
803-777-3178
jan.bass@moore.sc.edu
 
Member Engineering and Computing Matt Thatcher
Professor and Chair of Computer Science and Engineering, College of Engineering and Computing
803-777-2895
thatche1@cec.sc.edu
 
Member Education Rob Dedmon
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Student Affairs, College of Education
803-777-3570
rdedmon@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Arts and Sciences Claudia Benitez-Nelson
Associate Dean for Instruction, Community Engagement and Research
803-777-0525
benitezn@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member SC Honors College Andrea Tanner
Associate Dean, South Carolina Honors College
803-576-5633
atanner@sc.edu
 
Member Music Tina Milhorn Stallard
Professor of Voice/Soprano, Associate Dean, Director of Undergraduate Studies, School of Music
803-777-0062
tstallard@mozart.sc.edu
 
Member Nursing Karen Worthy
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Studies, Clinical Assistant Professor, College of Nursing
803-576-7954
kworthy0@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Pharmacy Kristi Kinslow 
Director, Pre-Professional Studies and Recruitment, College of Pharmacy
803-777-6635
kinslowk@cop.sc.edu
 
Member Public Health, Arnold School of Sara Corwin
Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Affairs and Clinical Associate Professor, Arnold School of Public Health
803-777-3636
corwins@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Regional Campuses and Extended University Ron Cox
Associate Professor, History, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, USC Lancaster
803-313-7101
roncox@mailbox.sc.edu
Palmetto College
Member Regional Campuses and Extended University  Elliot Vittes
Associate Professor, Political Science, Palmetto College Columbia
803-576-7259
vittes@mailbox.sc.edu
Palmetto College
Member Student Affairs and Academic Support Pam Bowers
Associate Vice President, Student Affairs & Academic Support, Assessment
803-777-4172
pjbowers@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member Information and Communications Ernest Wiggins
Associate Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communications
803-777-3325
wigginel@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Specialty Team Chair Aesthetic and Interpretive Understanding Sarah Williams
Associate Professor, Music History, School of Music
803-777-1759
swilliams@mozart.sc.edu
 AIU
Specialty Team Chair Analytical Reasoning & Problem-Solving David Hitchcock
Associate Professor, Statistics, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-7800
hitchcock@stat.sc.edu
 ARP
Specialty Team Chair Effective, Engaged, and Persuasive Communication - Speech Jonathan Edwards
Senior Instructor and Director of Speech, English Language and Literature, College of Arts and Sciences
803-569-5949
edwardjj@mailbox.sc.edu
 CMS
Specialty Team Chair Effective, Engaged, and Persuasive Communication - Written Nicole Fisk
Senior Instructor, English Language and Literature, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-7528
fisknp@mailbox.sc.edu
 CMW
Specialty Team Chair Global Citizenship and Multicultural Understanding:
Foreign Language
Judy Kalb
Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures and Cultures,
College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-8454
kalbj@mailbox.sc.edu
 GFL
Specialty Team Chair Global Citizenship and Multicultural Understanding:
Historical Thinking
Kay Edwards
Professor, History, 
College of Arts and Sciences
 803-777-7326
kathrynedwards@sc.edu
 GHS
Specialty Team Chair Global Citizenship and Multicultural Understanding:
Social and Behavioral Sciences

 David Darmafol
Associate Professor, Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences

803-777-3109
darmofal@mailbox.sc.edu
 GSS
Specialty Team Chair Information Literacy Karen Brown
Research & Instruction Librarian, Thomas Cooper Library
803-777-2956
kwbrown@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Specialty Team Chair Scientific Literacy Jeff Wilson
Associate Professor, Undergraduate DIrector,
Physics and Astronomy,
College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-4650
jwilson@sc.edu
 SCI
Specialty Team Chair Values, Ethics, and Social Responsibility Matthew Kisner
Associate Professor, Philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences
803-777-3739
mattkisner@hotmail.com
 VSR
Member, Ex-Officio Office of the Provost Trena Houp
Associate Director, Distributed Learning, Interim Director, Academic Programs, Office of the Provost
803-777-0460
thoup@sc.edu
 
Member,Ex-Officio Curricula and Courses Committee Chair

Marianne Bickle
Professor, Retailing and Interdisciplinary Studies, College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management

803-777-3805
bickle@hrsm.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Faculty Senate Chair Mark Cooper
Professor, English Language and Literature, College of Arts & Sciences
803-576-5991
coopermg@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Office of Institutional Assessment and Compliance Sabrina Andrews
Executive Director, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Analytics
803-777-2814
andrews1@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Student Affairs and Academic Support Claire Robinson
Director, University Advising Center
803-777-1212
wittling@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Office of Institutional Assessment and Compliance Donald Miles
Director of Institutional Effectiveness and Accreditation, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Analytics
803-777-2814
dmiles@mailbox.sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Office of Institutional Assessment and Compliance LaTrice Ratcliff-Small
Institutional Effectiveness Manager, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Analytics
803-576-6234
latrice@sc.edu
 
Member, Ex-Officio Student Affairs and Academic Support Jennifer Tilford
Curriculum Coordinator, University Advising Center
803-777-1685
tilfordj@mailbox.sc.edu
 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©