Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Mungo Distinguished Professor Award

The Michael J. Mungo Distinguished Professor of the Year award is the University of South Carolina's most prestigious award presented annually to an outstanding teacher of undergraduate studies. The name of each award winner is engraved on a permanent plaque housed on the main floor of the Thomas Cooper Library and award recipients receive a check for $30,000 and a certificate.

  1. Candidates must be full-time, any track or rank faculty members who have taught at USC for at least five years.
  2. Previous Mungo Distinguished Professors Award recipients are not eligible for consideration.
  3. Recipients of any other teaching award are eligible for consideration.

Candidate submissions may be submitted by USC Columbia students, faculty members, administrators and alumni. 

Individuals completing the submission form are required to submit all required materials.

Application file(s) are to be submitted electronically through the submission form.

Please note: All required materials should be combined into one PDF file before uploading.

Submission forms are due by December 22, 2023.

  • Answer the following question in under two (2) pages:
    • Why should this professor be considered for the Mungo Distinguished Professor Award?
  • Letter of support(s) from within the university (dean or chair)
  • Letter of support(s) from undergraduate students

A selection committee composed of undergraduates and former winners of the award evaluates the candidates and determines the list of finalists. Members of the selection committee visit the finalists' classes, interview the finalists and the finalists' colleagues, and poll the students in the finalists' classes. The winner will be honored at the spring Faculty Awards Ceremony.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.