Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Mungo Distinguished Professor Donna Chen

Honors and Awards

The University of South Carolina at attracts and retains outstanding faculty, staff, and students. These community members are consistently recognized both nationally and internationally for their research, scholarship, and creative activity. Programs, honor societies and prestigious recognitions for continuing scholarly achievements and distinctions of faculty and students are awarded and recognized on an annual basis.

National Awards 

Our faculty are consistently recognized by national awards, honors and fellowships, including election to the National Academies, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows, Fulbright Scholars, Guggenheim Fellows and National Science Foundation Career Awards.

Our exceptional students are given the opportunity to take advantage of the National Fellowships and Scholar Programs. This office facilitates the pursuit of nationally prestigious scholarships by university students and is home to Top Scholars, the university's most distinguished merit award recipients. 

Office of the Provost awards

The Michael J. Mungo teaching awards and Distinguished Professor of the Year award are given by the Michael J. Mungo Foundation every year to faculty who demonstrate outstanding dedication to their students through teaching.  The Mungo Foundation provides $5,000 for the teaching awards and $20,000 for the Distinguished Professor of the Year Award.  This year's recipient of the Distinguished Professor of the Year Award is Dr. Tammi Richardson, professor in the Department of Biological Sciences.  We also recognize outstanding advising, teaching in our clinical programs, and faculty service. Faculty research and scholarship in several broad disciplinary areas are recognized for faculty across the USC system.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.