Skip to Content

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Magellan Scholar Recipients Announced

Each Magellan Scholar receives up to $3,000 to help fund a research project, competing for this award with the submission of a research, scholarship, or creative project proposal developed in collaboration with his or her faculty mentor.

The following students were selected to receive a Magellan Scholar Program grant for their research:

  • Quintaris Earl, advisor Natalia Shustova, received $3,000 for their proposal entitled "Rigid Crown-Ether-based Frameworks as a Well-Defined Platform for Nuclear Waste Sequestration."
  • Jade Ikahihifo-Bender, advisor Caryn Outten, received $2,500 for their proposal entitled "Structural and Functional Characterization of the Iron-Responsive Transcription Factor AFT1 from C. Glabrata."
  • Navid Sarkar Tavakoli, advisor Parastoo Hashemi, received $2,750 for their proposal entitled "A Fast Voltammetric Analysis of Atorvastatin's Effects of Synaptic Serotonin."
  • Alex Melville, advisor Aaron Vannucci, received $2,500 for their proposal entitled " Anion Pool Synthesis of Strong Nucleophiles for Developing Reactivity Trends with Carbon-Fluorine Bonds."
  • Badr Abdullah, advisor Michael Myrick, received $2,500 for their proposal entitled  "Fluorescence Microscopy Studies of Lyngbya Wollei."
  • Morgan Perryman, advisor Linda Shimizu, received $2,500 for their proposal entitled "Development of New Fluorophore Drug Conjugates."
  • Jane Vista, advisor Sheryl Wiskur, received $2,500 for their proposal entitled "Analysis of Electrostatic Cation-Pi Interactions."

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.