Skip to Content

Joseph F. Rice School of Law

Moot Court Bar hosts annual memorial competition in new building

The University of South Carolina School of Law congratulates second-year law students Missi Fredette and Paul Allen for winning the ninth annual Kate Bockman Memorial Moot Court Bar Competition on Oct. 17. The team was selected by presiding South Carolina Court of Appeals Judges John D. Geathers, Thomas E. Huff, and Stephanie P. McDonald.

The judges also selected Fredette as best oralist, while awarding the best brief to second-year student Richard Gergel.

For the first time, students presented their arguments in the school’s new Judge Karen J. Williams Courtroom.

The problem involved the Sixth Amendment right to a speedy trial. Fredette and Allen argued as counsel for the petitioner against competitors Gergel and Matthew Mandeville, counsel for the respondent.

This annual competition gives second-year law students the opportunity to enhance their legal writing and oral arguments skills in an appellate advocacy framework. The top scoring students are invited to become members of the Moot Court Bar; the top eight scoring students are bestowed the honor of becoming a member of the Order of Barristers, a national legal honor society. 

The competition is named in memory of Moot Court Bar alumna and member of the Order of the Barristers, Kathryn Anne Bockman.

After the winners were announced, Moot Court Bar Chief Justice Alexa Tattersall inducted the 2018-2019 members of the bar.

Learn more about the Moot Court Bar.

2017-2018 Moot Court Bar Members 2018-2019 Moot Court Bar Members
Sarah Tate Chambers* Paul Allen*
Chance Cuellar Daquan Blyther
Quentin Gaddy George Bryan*
Stephen Griffith Madison Cevallos
Jonathan Lewis* Kaitlin Cook
Makenzie Polston Sarah Deane*
Alex Roll Missi Fredette*
Ryder Tipton* Richard Gergel*
Alexander Zuraff* Matt Jepertinger
  Rachel Lee*
  David Legget
  Matthew Mandeville*
  Ashton Phillips
  Rebekah Spannagel*
  Kathryn Stewart
  Christina Westervelt
  Taylor Yarnal

*Order of the Barristers

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.