Skip to Content

Joseph F. Rice School of Law

Celebrating 2023 Award Winners

USC School of Law recognizes its students, faculty and staff for their outstanding achievements and accomplishments by naming recipients of awards for scholarship, professional accomplishment and exemplary service each year.

We are proud to announce the 2022-2023 recipients of the following named awards:

Award Name Award Winner
Albert C. Todd, III Estate Planning Award Michael Chalmers Middleton
Arthur B. Custy Award Mallory Anna Clamp
Claud N. Sapp Award Melissa Campbell Byars & Michael Grant Lindsay
Compleat Lawyer Bronze Medal Christel Purvis & Emma Higgins
Cy Young Award Grace E. Driggers
Dean's Medallion Award Grace E. Driggers
G.G. Dowling Student Award Michael Grant Lindsay & Oscar Collinbrook Locklear
Irving Steinberg Award Michael Austin Coward
I.M. Goldberg South Carolina Bar Foundation Scholarship Morgan Reilly Boes
John R. Holland Award Morgan Reilly Boes & Samantha Jordan Dorward
John O. McDougall Family Law Award Grace E. Driggers
Kim Technology Award Marianna Casimir McDevitt & Edmund Jackson Scott, Jr.
Luther M. Lee Award Briana Richie
Nelson, Mullins, Riley & Scarborough Center on Professionalism Award Halee Marie Smith
Robert W. Foster, Sr. Alternative Dispute Resolution Award Nicholas Joseph Quatraro
Roberts Senior Class Writing Award William Brendan Koontz
Sherod H. Eadon Award Paige Luvenia Brown
South Carolina Chapter of the Association of Corporate Counsel Award Grace E. Driggers
Stanley H. Kohn Award Brent Carlton Adams
Robert T. Bockman Award Isabel Jane Sink
Senator Burnet R. Maybank Award Grace E. Driggers; W. Christopher Schwartz; & Ethan Spencer Strickland
Student Bar Association Service Award Melissa Campbell Byars
Student Bar Association Committed Student Award Brent Carlton Adams
Student Diversity Leadership Award DeKiah NiKole Baxter & Elem Andrea Ibiam
Tanya A. Gee Warriors for Justice Award Lauren Allison Hoyns
Barney O. Smith National Trial Competition Award Arden Elise Boore & Hunter Zane Dunn
Children’s Law Concentration Distinguished Student Award Danielle Marie Darrow
Hugh L. Willcox Pro Bono Award Morgan Reilly Boes & Lillian Reid Lawrence
Outstanding Pro Bono Service Award Reilly Holland Lerner; Michael Grant Lindsay; Gabrielle Louise Sharp; & Benjamin Stevens
D. Reece Williams, III Trial Advocacy Award Gabrielle Martin Rife
Robert McCormick Figg Jr. Trial Advocacy Award Melissa Campbell Byars
Award Name Award Recipient
Karen M. Lee Memorial Scholarship Ashley Jones
Susan McCrary Scholarship Lynnise Brown
Joseph P. McNulty Scholarship Alexandria Jenkins
Joseph O. Rogers, Jr. Bicentennial Scholarship Raquelle Cannon & Quinn Mann
Capers Bouton Memorial Scholarship Paul Clowes & Bubba Philpot
Jackson Lewis Employment & Labor Law Endowed Award Hollis Burnett
Student Diversity Leadership Award Raquelle Cannon
Outstanding Pro Bono Service Award (Rising 3Ls) Torrey Benjamin; Alyssa Markheim; & Michelle Pappas
Coleman Karesh Award (Highest 2L GPA) Allison Robertson
Richard J. Foster Award (Highest 1L GPA) Samuel Boyd; Cameron Cox; & Brooke Schmitt
D. Reece Williams III Trial Advocacy Award Tanner Wise & Luke Rankin
Victor Michalewitz Award Mason J. Rajaee
Award Name Award Winner
Faculty Writing Award – Book
The Cambridge Handbook of Disaster Law and Policy: Risk. Recovery, and Redevelopment
Dean Susan Kuo
Faculty Writing Award – Book
Intellectual Property and Immorality: Against Protecting Harmful Creations of the Mind
Dean Ned Snow
Faculty Writing Award – Article
The Racialized Violence of Police Canine Force
(forthcoming 2023 in Georgetown Law Journal)
Professor Madalyn Wasilczuk
Faculty Writing Award – Article
The Abolition of Food Oppression
2023 in Georgetown Law Journal)
Professor Etienne Toussaint
Best Classroom Teacher Award Professor Scott Bauries &
Professor Kevin Brown
Outstanding Faculty Member Award Dean Susan Kuo
Faculty Service Award Professor Clint Wallace &
Professor Benjamin Means
Faculty G.G. Dowling Award Professor Seth Stoughton
Faculty Diversity Leadership Award Professor Etienne Toussaint
Award Name Award Winner
Staff Diversity Leadership Award George Hamilton, Syretta Rhodes & Samantha White


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.