Skip to Content

College of Pharmacy

  • Banner Image

College of Pharmacy faculty, students shine at ACCP meeting

Faculty and students from the Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcomes Sciences at the College of Pharmacy were recognized for their leadership and scholarship at the 2016 American College of Clinical Pharmacy’s annual meeting.

One University of South Carolina research team’s poster presentation was considered a top four finalist for best poster at the meeting. Their topic was “Factors associated with antiretroviral errors in HIV-infected patients in the intensive care unit,” and the researchers were Shelby Merchant, Emily Moose, Taylor Foore, Melanie McDonald, Tanvi Mehta, Celeste Caulder and Brandon Bookstaver.

“Placing in the top four was a huge honor,” associate professor Bookstaver said. “Their hard work produced a wonderful end product, and I’m thankful to ACCP for recognizing their efforts."

Also at the meeting, associate professor LeAnn Norris was inducted as an ACCP fellow, and Bookstaver was slated for the 2017 ACCP Board of Regent’s ballot. Student Elizabeth Rogers began service on an ACCP committee, and assistant professor Christina Cox was recognized as the outgoing chair of the Pediatrics Practice and Research Network.

Speaking in meeting sessions were Cox (pediatrics/academia career roundtable), Bookstaver (Clostridium difficile clinical controversies), fourth-year professional student Jillian Hayes (research platform presentation at Infectious Diseases PRN business meeting) and Norris (primary management of care in HIV-infected cancer survivors).

Numerous faculty members and students from the USC campus presented posters, some in conjunction with other researchers.

“Our students with their faculty mentors consistently produce high-level research across the board,” Bookstaver said. “We had an impressively large group of 15 students involved in research presentations at the ACCP Annual Meeting.”

The USC representatives and their topics are:

  • Host Factors Associated with Elevated Minimum Inhibitory Concentrations to Fosfomycin and Doxycycline among Vancomycin-Resistant Enterococcal Urine Isolates at a Tertiary Care Medical Center (Hayes, Kevin Lu, Brian O’Quinn, Caulder and Bookstaver)
  • Assessment and comparison of two protocols for intravenous electrolyte replacement in critically ill patients (Lauren Hord, Farah Kablaoui, Jacob Lines and Jenna Foster)
  • Understanding of Diabetes Care Among Frail Elders/Caregivers in a PACE Model (Victoria Hagen and Karen McGee)
  • In Vitro Activity of Ceftolozane/Tazobactam and Ceftazidime/Avibactam Against Multidrug-Resistant Gram-Negative Bacteria Isolated in a Southeastern U.S. Teaching Hospital (Omar Jamjoom, Bookstaver, Joseph Kohn, Majdi Al-Hasan and Julie Justo)
  • Appropriateness of Empiric Antimicrobial Therapy in Patients Discharged from the Emergency Department (Alyssa Berganini, Christine Alexander, Caulder, Liz Caulder, Cousin Caulder, Tina Hardison, Justo and Nicole Smith)
  • Incidence of hypophosphatemia in very low birth weight infants receiving parenteral nutrition (Justin Gardo, Sona Tailor, Caroline Macpherson and Cox)
  • Critical Care PRN Membership Needs Assessment/Benefits Survey (Foster)
  • Acute Kidney Injury with Concomitant Piperacillin/tazobactam and Vancomycin: Systematic Review (Bookstaver)
  • Initiation of a Treatment Switch from a Multiple-Tablet ART Regimen to a Single-Tablet ART Regimen in a Non-Adherent HIV Population (Sarah Lewter and Scott Sutton)
  • Factors associated with antiretroviral errors in HIV-infected patients in the intensive care unit (Merchant, Moose, Foore, McDonald, Mehta, Caulder and Bookstaver)

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.