Skip to Content

College of Pharmacy

  • Alumni accepting awards

Gamecock alumni receive top honors at state pharmacy convention

Pharmacy professionals across the state gathered in Charleston last month for the South Carolina Pharmacy Association 2022 Annual Convention. This year, several Gamecock pharmacy alumni received recognition with the association’s top honors for their contributions to the profession of pharmacy in South Carolina. Please join us in congratulating the following alumni awardees: 


Bowl of Hygeia Award

John Walter Pugh, Pharm.D. (‘05)
Award sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association Foundation and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations 

SCPhA Pharmacist of the Year

George Edward Vess, Jr., R.Ph (’80)
Award sponsored by SC Pharmacy Association 

Excellence in Innovation Award

Jarrod B. Tippins, Pharm.D. (’09)
Award sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc. 

Outgoing President Award

Jennifer Baker, Pharm.D. (’02)
Award sponsored by Smith Drug Company

For more information, visit the South Carolina Pharmacy Association Awards page.

Topics: Alumni Programs

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.