Skip to Content

College of Pharmacy

  • Cocky statue - Spring Awards 2023

Spring 2023 College of Pharmacy Awards

The end of another school year brings with it much joy and celebration as students, faculty and staff are recognized for their hard work throughout the year. Join us in acknowledging each of these outstanding student pharmacists, faculty and staff members for their dedication and achievement. 

Pharm.D. Class of 2023

Presented at the College of Pharmacy P4 Awards Luncheon, May 2, 2023

Community Service Award

Presented to Vanessa M. Poirier, who made significant contributions through community service activities as a pharmacy student.

Deans Award

Presented to Amber L. Keefe, who demonstrated excellence in pharmacy practice.

Excellence in Clinical Communication Award

Presented to Rouen L. Brockmann, who demonstrated superior verbal and written communication skills.

Integrative Medicine Award

Presented to Farah Y. Vahora, who demonstrated promise in improving patient care through integrative medicine.

Interprofessional Award

Presented to Zachery T. Nichols, who participated in and made significant contributions to interprofessional initiatives.

Merck Manual Award for Academic Excellence

Presented to Lynn E. Broermann and Olivia T. Whitworth, for outstanding scholastic achievement in pharmacy studies. Sponsored by Merck & Co., Inc.

VIATRIS™ Excellence in Pharmacy Award

Presented to Joanna V. Nixon, who demonstrated high professional motivation with proficiency in drug information services. Sponsored by VIATRIS™.

Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award

Presented to Karen M. Hawkins and Farah Y. Vahora, who demonstrated outstanding scholastic qualities and received the highest GPA.

Outstanding Student Leadership Award

Presented to Emily A. Brackett, who demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities throughout their time at the College of Pharmacy. Sponsored by the USC Phi Lambda Sigma Chapter.

Professionalism Award

Presented to Delvin M. Omer, who demonstrated exemplary professional behavior, integrity, compassion and respect while representing the College of Pharmacy.

Graduate Students

Selected for recognition by the College of Pharmacy Honors and Awards Committee

Outstanding Graduate Student of the Year

Mingming Wang

Ritedose Corporation Graduate Student Scholarship

Sarah Davis and Abby Davies

James Plaxco Jr. Scholarship Award

Zachary Stryker

Charles Yandell Award

Sarah Beth Tucker

Daniel Li-Chang Wang Scholarship Award

Celia Cui

Pharm.D. Students

Presented at the College of Pharmacy P3 Spring Banquet, April 14, 2023

Student Organization Service Award

Presented to the Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) at USC for the exceptional voluntary contributions that student members of this organization made within the community.

Kappa Epsilon Service Award

Presented to Maggie Prosser, who demonstrated exemplary service within a variety of community outreach activities. Sponsored by the USC KE Chapter.

Phi Lambda Sigma "JAM UP" Award

Presented to Alexa Ridder, who exemplified what it means to lead regardless of leadership titles. Sponsored by the USC PLS Chapter.

Theresa Smith Pharmaceutical Biochemistry Student of the Year Award

Presented to Hyojung Choi, who achieved the highest GPA in Pharmaceutical Biochemistry.

Faculty and Staff

Presented at the College of Pharmacy P3 Spring Banquet, April 15, 2023

Teacher of the Year (P1)

Presented to Michael Wyattwho excelled in teaching, established rapport with the students and modeled professional characteristics as chosen by this year’s P1 class.

Teacher of the Year (P2)

Presented to Alexander Gasparian, who excelled in teaching, established rapport with the students and modeled professional characteristics as chosen by this year’s P2 class.

Teacher of the Year (P3)

Presented to Brie Dunn, who excelled in teaching, established rapport with the students and modeled professional characteristics as chosen by this year’s P3 class.

Ms. Diane Wise Award

Presented to Tiea Monroe for their dedication and actions that exceed expectations to allow for student success, as identified by the student body.  

Outstanding Mentor Award

Presented to Jordan M. Ballou, of the USC College of Pharmacy, who served as a role model and advisor, contributing significantly to the professional development of students outside of the classroom environment through mentoring activities.

Presented at the
Faculty & Staff Awards Celebration, May 9, 2023

Distinguished Service Award

Presented to Stan Papajohn and Nikki Mellen for extraordinary efforts to advance the education, mentoring and career development of our students, or other service contributions that enhance the reputation and overall mission of the college.

Emerging Researcher Award

Presented to Ismaeel Yunusa for significant and outstanding contributions to the research mission of the college as a junior faculty member. 

Established Researcher Award

Presented to Jun Zhu for demonstrating excellence in their field of expertise while making an outstanding contribution to the research mission of the college.

Entrepreneurship, Leadership and Innovation Award

Presented to Michaela Almgren and Terry Dixon for engagement in entrepreneurship, leadership, and innovation above and beyond their faculty or staff job description. 

All awards are sponsored by the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy unless otherwise denoted.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.